1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this to much for my D5 To Handle ?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Durvelle27, Dec 21, 2013.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I have a water cooling setup and I'm trying to figure out if I need to add a second pump in the loop and is my D5 at its limits. I'm running 3x 240mm rads, CPU Block, and soon a EK GPU block with a Swiftech MCP655 & Cylinder Res. The reason I ask is because yesterday I added my 3rd rad into the loop and oddly enough temps went up some then with 2x 240mm
     
  2. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    548 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Yeah i'd say your starting to push a little bit too much. I was running 1x 240 rad/cpu/2xgpu's/res and it was starting to struggle a bit via 1x mcp655. It did work but the amount of pressure there was not what i'd call "good enough".

    A second pump wouldn't hurt if you can find some room in there! GL :)
     
  3. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,061 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    Location:
    Italy
    Is the pump running at full throttle? If so, which radiators are you using? Some are more restrictive than others but not as much as waterblocks.

    Anyway a D5 Vario at 4/5 speed should run that setup without an issue, provided you aren't using super-restrictive radiators.
     
  4. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Yes its a full speed

    Rads:

    XSPC EX240
    Feser X-Changer Dual 240mm Extreme Performance Radiator
    XSPC RX240
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,682 (12.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,536
    I think you'll get the best performance by getting the 2nd pump and just use dual loops. You could probably lose one of the radiators.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i need the 3rd rad and why dual loop
     
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,061 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    Location:
    Italy
    Nah, dual loop isn't optimal for what we do with our PCs.

    You'll never use both GPU and CPU at 100% at the same time to warrant loop splitting and even if that happens the temperature gain isn't going to be more than 2-3C overall.

    Just get a second pump and be done with it, imho.

    Keep it simple :toast:
     
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Can i throw in a MCP3550 or does it have to be another MCP655
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,682 (12.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,536
    If you have all the parts to make up two loops, might as well do it. I can assure you the temperature gain will be better than 2-3c. I wouldn't know why you wouldn't want to.
     
  10. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    729 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Erocker is right, it also makes the pumps work much easier. 1 for CPU with 1 rad and 1 for the dual GPUs with 1 or 2 rads, you could even get a badass res and use the same res for the whole system.
     
  11. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,747 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    D5 is a great pump and it's been solid for me. For a long time, it pushed through 2 360 rads (EK xtx and Xspc ex), cpu block, and 2 gpus, all without breaking a sweat on setting 4. Currently, I've set the pump to setting 3 while pushing the same 2 rads, cpu, and 1 gpu; it's running strong.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    729 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    This is also true the pumps are amazing mine is 3.5 years of hard pushing and still sounds and runs like day 1. I did pick up another a year ago just in case if it ever does go I don't need to hunt one down. The D5/MCP655 are fine pieces indeed.
     
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,028 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Why do you "need" the third radiator? you only have one CPU and one GPU currently correct? Unless you are testing water temp/sink temp at each output to determine heat transfer you are spending money for nothing.
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    because with 2x240mm rad it limited my CPU OC. with 2x240mm i could only get 4.8GHz on my CPU before temps were to high. With 3x 240mm rads i can easily get 5.1GHz.

    Don't have all the parts necessary for a dual loop so it would cost much more as i would need tubing, pump, another res etc....

    I'll be running one GPU (GTX 780)
     
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,061 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't know how you got your numbers, guys, but from running single loop vs split loop my water delta was about 2C difference at full load, it could however be related to how much radiator surface I'm running though.
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  16. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,028 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    I run with a single 360 radiator and my CPU has never seen 45C and my GPU never reaches 42C. As radrok said, the limiting factor is not heat release from the coolant, but the thermal flux of your CPU lid/TIM/HS and the coolant itself. 2C isn't enough to reach 5.1Ghz, measure the water temp going into and out of your CPU block, i bought a fluke meter and the thermal probe for it was like $60, or if you want to go the cheap route a infrared laser will tell you what temps you have.

    To drop the core temp on your CPU you either need to increase the thermal pickup of your coolant, increase the flow rate, use a peliter to increase heat transfer, delid, and or use better TIM.


    Lest start with what temps are you at now? What is ambient temp? Get some water temps at the inlet of the CPU block, the outlet of the radiator and the inlet of the radiator. What coolant are you using? What is your fan setup for the radiators?
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Loaded i'm seeing 53*C @5GHz and adding another rad improved more than 2C, 21*C, Distilled Water, & 6x Swiftech Helix-120s
     
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,105 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,501
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm with Radrok on this 100%. I run a D5 at setting 4 (out of 6) with 2 Heatkiller 360 rads in a single loop with a Titan (1.123GHz) on EKWB and 3930k (4.4GHz) using a Raystorm. My temps are lower on this for my CPU than they were when my CPU had a dedicated 240 rad running a dual loop config. It seems counter intuitive but a single loop with large rad capacity is better than a dual loop with smaller rad capacities.
     
    Steevo and d1nky say thanks.
  19. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,028 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    How much more than 2C? Try running your loop, radiator, tank, pump, radiator, CPU, GPU back to the first radiator. Add a few drops of dish soap to your coolant, it acts as a surfactant and will lower the surface tension of coolant and improve heat transfer by more than the 2C you are trying to get with another radiator.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    With 2x 240mm

    FX-8350 @5GHz would hit 64*C under full load with a HD 7970 @1280/1850 @55*C

    My cooling is setup like this

    Res, Pump, GPU, 240mm, 240mm, CPU, 240mm, Res

    I will try the dish soap and see if it changes anything. Does it have to be a certain kind ?
     
  21. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,028 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    The two radiators right after each other aren't doing enough to justify the total thermal load you are running.

    Any kind works, I have used antimicrobial hand soap too, or standard dishsoap (not dishwasher detergent), and my loop it dropped temps about 4-5C, and this was tested with my really old 9850 Phenom that made a great room heater.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I have this. Is it ok

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,682 (12.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,536
    I had the opposite experience using a "thinner' Koolance 360 and a RX 240. While my CPU stayed the same (bad IHS contact), my GPU temps went down 5c. Honestly, 5c doesn't make any difference when load temps are 40c. I just had the parts and said why not.
     
  24. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,028 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    It will work fine. Plus it lubricates the pump too.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  25. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Temps at 4.8GHz with 3x 240mm + Soap

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page