1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is threre clean Install option in Windows 8 Pro?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Abdo shniba, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi guys I've just pre ordered Windows 8 Pro from amazon , and want to know is there a clean install option in this version, or I must upgrade my current installed version of windows? as I would like to format my SSD and start fresh :).
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes it SHOULD have a clean install option on the disk. If not download a digital copy and put your Key into it
  3. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so it doesn't have to be a full retail or system builder copy to get the clean install
    option?
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,294 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    You should be able to do a clean install with any version ;)

    I've had no issues doing this with Windows 7 ... 8 should be the same.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thank you so much guys for clarifying :), I really appreciate it.
  6. irlandezul

    irlandezul

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Make a clean install .
    For future , in win8 you have 2 new options :
    ■Reset your PC
    ■Refresh your PC
  7. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I've just noticed something, the copy I pre ordered doesn't state if it was 32bit or 64bit, dows the upgrade copy includes both?
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    the upgrade option worked really well for me on the vga bench system (for testing). all your installed programs and everything will be there just like you left them on windows 7.

    you do the upgrade by starting the installer from within windows.

    if you boot from the installation media, you can format your system before installing
  9. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    W1z replayed to my thread :eek:, I'm so honored :clap::roll:, :laugh: I want to format and start fresh W1z, what I want to know does the upgrade copy includes both 32bit and 64Bit ? because it's not stated in the description.
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,294 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    The upgrade should contain the 32 and 64bit versions
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thank you Norton, and a big thanks for you all , again much appreciated
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,942 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    retail versions of windows have both 64 and 32 bit disks. OEMs do not
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,294 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,385
    Yoou are correct and the product description will specify whether it's the 32 or 64 bit version...

    The version the Op linked to is the upgrade and contains both:

    NewEgg has a better description:
    Microsoft Windows 8 Professional Upgrade
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page