1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is your system overclocked?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Sep 10, 2012.

?

Is your system overclocked?

Poll closed Nov 3, 2012.
  1. Yes, graphics only

    924 vote(s)
    7.4%
  2. Yes, CPU only

    2,554 vote(s)
    20.5%
  3. Yes, CPU and graphics card

    5,174 vote(s)
    41.6%
  4. No

    3,783 vote(s)
    30.4%
  1. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    517 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    this is tpu of course i overclock.. Everything :)

    I would overclock my ssd if i could.. lol

    I do however, have presets for my 7970; Stock, 1ghz, 1100mhz, depending on the game i run i just hit the preset that is needed.
     
  2. MasterInvader

    MasterInvader

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    275 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    Vote: Yes, CPU and graphics card

    The point of watercooling is great OC, otherwise it´s a hopeless investment.
     
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    Yes to everything - gives me more value for my money and better performance for free. The risks are typically overblown (in some rare cases they are not due to cheap VRM designs).

    My rig is an i5 750 undervolted and OC'd to 3.33 - at this speed it more than fuels the GTX 570 (which is OC'd to the max, not much, since it is a crap clocker) I bought the chip in Winter '09 and have been running games at high settings ever since.

    It gives the hardware a longer usable lifespan, and satiates my need to tweak things.
     
  4. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    On current system... not 24 / 7 only when i get the itch to and because the wife has pretty much assimilated it anyway(resistance is futile...and unrewarding) building something new though :rockout:
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    Everything even the laptop. Dropped $11 and had him support my pll. Everything must be clocked.
     
  6. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    478 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arcadia
    off course i have oc everything , my only complain is in the past and now fore some reason i dont get high oc like i see for other guys ,next time i build a new rig high quality motherboard in the first place xd
     
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    I overclock for the experience. To me at least half of the fun of building a new system is spending time in the BIOS finding its limits, even if i end up running stock(which is rare.)
    I have good memories of pushing 50, 75, even 100% and higher overclocks. That alone keeps me overclocking. The performance gains, no matter how small or large, are just icing on the cake as far as I'm concerned.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yes and yes. CPU is a bargain basement $40 Business Class Phenom II x4 B93 @ 2.8ghz stock. Add some voltage and crank up the FSB for a nice 3.82Ghz OC. GPU is a ASUS GTX460 Top DirectCU and is just ripe for the 860/1720/1840 OC that it currently folds with. Love the "free" performance boost!

    :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    yup on my Core2Quad(Yes I Still Have One) I have it sitting on a nice 4.12Ghz from the stock 2.6Ghz and on my Asus GTX 460 I am at 855 on the core.

    still its sad that the lower end chips have ocing cannabalized on them now or I would have upgraded, I remember my old E2140 would oc as high as 150%
    1600mhz to 3800mhz.
     
  10. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    I used to overclock everything I could when I had crappy hardware, like an athlon II dual core, and a 8800gts 512 along with ddr2 800mhz ram. overclocking the cpu from 2.9 to almost 4ghz gave a huge gain in gaming performance. But now when I have all this what you can see in my specs, I just don't see the point anymore. Overclocked or not it runs just fine either way. But. If my system starts choking, I know what I can do about it :p
     
  11. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I voted CPU only, but, my system specs show CPU and GPU overclocks -- the maximum settings on the rare occasions I play a game.
    The Phenom II 960T comes with locked cores, underclocked and overvolted, out of the box. So, unlocked, undervolted, moderately overclocked to 3.5, turbo off, all power saving settings enabled and functioning properly -- why not?
    (My 3.0Ghz cpu northbridge overclock is active though, perhaps the only thing I'm pushing close to its limits.)
     
  12. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    If it ain't broken don't fix it but... your grandma could overclock a Sandy Bridge so why not?
    Default voltage, turbo to 4.2GHz I guess that's overclocking? My card is factory overclocked, the hassle to add some MHz and face artifacts and stability tests for 2 FPS more on top of 50 is not worth it. Is that overclocking?
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,006 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,554
    This. Hardware has far surpassed software so IMO OCing isn't worth it. Not that I'm against it. Just don't see a point in my case.
     
  14. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Usually i try to OC everything i can, within reasonable limits( not using too much power/sounding like a hurricane).

    I like to play my games as fluent as possible, and 120FPS/ (or 60FPS for the occasional 3D game) is only rarely reached in todays modern games with my set-up, so the overclocking certainly adds to the experience.
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You're not a very happy perosn in life, are you? :p


    I go back and forth between CPU clocking, and no CPU clock. VGAs...I don't overclock at all.


    The only game i play that has a noticible effect form overclocking a bit is BF3, and yes, I tend to do a bit better in that game with that overclock, but it doesn't really matter...only if I want to be neurotic and insist i take the top score on the server...which i do often enough anyway.


    My son plays games on an FX-4100, and an HD5850, with 8 GB of ram, and no overclock at all. Everything palys fine...but he doesn't play online games at all. in many online games, FPS = advantage.
     
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,614 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,482
    +1 :toast:
    The CPU's on my crunching rigs are overclocked most of the time to keep my output up. I don't go too high as I want them to maintain stable output (no errors or blue screens) and still keep the heat at a manageable level.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I run a mild OC on both GPUs and my CPU :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    No OC here will once my comp gets to slow to play games, which will probably happen in about 11 days :)

    I do under-volt my CPU.
     
  19. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Performance for the dollar. Plus its fun to do.

    CPU & GPU
    Custom Bios on the graphics card.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    If you have top of the line hardware sure - but for them most part there is still alot of software that can kick the crap out of an aging system (bf3, skyrim, GTA IV mods, etc etc).

    Also, alot of the older chips (like my i5) get a noticeable boost from OC when paired with a modern gfx card.
     
  21. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    211 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Belgium
    I overclock my CPU when things get too slow. I had several overclocked GPUs out of the box, but I blew up a few so I don't bother with doing it myself.
     
  22. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,780 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    I overclock the CPU GPU and system Ram. I do this because I can and it is more or less a free performance upgrade so's to speak.:toast:
    Plus overclocking and tuning it all is is a fun craft in and of it's self!;)
     
  23. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    when ambient temperature will drop i think i will overclock again
     
  24. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    i overclock only to my sandy bridge k edition, but with optimized settings, i never push cpu to work at maximum level everytime unless cpu get heavy workload, and i don't overclock gpus (both nvidia and amd) since they have been serving me well until now. (factory oc)
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have had very system I own overclocked since the day I got them. Yes I have smoked some chips, but I also have many that are still kicking. To this day my phenom ii 910 c2 95w chip is chugging along@3.4ghz. Along with some overlooked 3870x2's. 3 years, 3 different boards and 4 sets of gpu's and it still chugs along. Currently running a b97@4ghz. If it dies I'll find another chip and do the same. Current gpu's are c locked as well.
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page