1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is your system overclocked?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Sep 10, 2012.

?

Is your system overclocked?

Poll closed Nov 3, 2012.
  1. Yes, graphics only

    924 vote(s)
    7.4%
  2. Yes, CPU only

    2,554 vote(s)
    20.5%
  3. Yes, CPU and graphics card

    5,174 vote(s)
    41.6%
  4. No

    3,783 vote(s)
    30.4%
  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,582 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,268
    where are they at actually:confused:
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    I only overclock the CPU sitting under it's enormous high end cooler, because graphics cards are already stressed and run hot with their stock coolers and I don't want to shorten their life.

    Plus, whenever I've seen the GPU overclocking tests on TPU reviews, most of the time they lead to insignificant or near insignificant performance gains of no more than 10% or so. Give me 20-25% and I'll consider it worthwhile.
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,582 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,268
    I recalled you had to return a core 2 machine back to stock because of issues?
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    You're probably thinking of my previous E8500 system. That ran with a GHz overclock for around three years. Towards the end, shortly before I upgraded to the 2700K (see specs) it started playing up a bit when overclocked, so I put it back to stock. At that point, it wasn't worth trying to stabilize the overclock, as I was phasing that system out.

    It's now working just fine as my server PC - at stock speed. ;)
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    No, because it makes little difference and I hardly have the time to bother with it these days.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,582 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,268
    yes thats the one i was talking about.
  7. darkangel0504

    darkangel0504

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    85 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Both :D ...........................
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    You sound like an old fart like me. :laugh: I can't be bothered a lot of the time either.
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yes but not intentionally.
    Setting the motherboard to recognize XMP RAM profile causes the CPU to also be overclocked.
  10. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,609 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    I overclock wichever part is weaker but i care more for long term stability.
  11. Hardi

    Hardi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    No need for me, everything runs good enough. my cpu is actually undervolted quite a bit, so i'm on the other end of overcloking : P
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,086 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    I said No as I dont need to. 3770k + gtx680 = does not need to. :p
  13. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Please say you are joking.
  14. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,086 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Nope. Not even in BF3 on a 2560x1440 monitor, no.

    Dont tell my benching team/home forum though. ;)
  15. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    So you bought a 3770K, EVGA Z77 FTW, GTX 680 Lightning, liquid-cooling just to run at stock?
  16. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,086 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Sorry, wrong rig... 3570k / gtx680 under a H100.. stock.

    the other rig is for benching and reviewing.
  17. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Still...
  18. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,086 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Still what? Get off it. Its stock and runs things juuuuuuuuuuuust fine. :)

    Though to please you with what I do with the parts in my PC, the 3570K has gone cold before (it was meh), so it was relegated to 24/7 duty.


    CPU does even less... why bother there in that case? To justify your CPU cooler purchase? :D
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    sooo,, you should porobably try a bit harder 20% is normally quite do-able and i normally get 35% from cpu's 24/7 folding, surely that might raise a smile:D
  20. Freedom4556

    Freedom4556

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    AR, USA
    I do stock all summer, and overclock everything to the limit for the most demanding games for the rest of the year. But sometimes games are really sesitive to overclocking, or just plain buggy (I'm looking at you Bethesda and Bioware) so it's all normally stock unless a game is demanding enough for the performance to bother me.
  21. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Absolutely not. I want with water to gain a silent computer. The processor overclock was just a bonus.

    I would overclock my GPUs, but there seems to be some issue with surround mode causing games to crash if the cards are at anything above stock. Still, my system's main bottleneck is its small amount of graphics memory (for running at 5760x1200) rather than shader power/memory bandwidth, so the graphics overclock is pointless for me.
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    But you still have fans running?
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,158 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    can u add memory overclock too?
  24. radusorin

    radusorin

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Romania
    CPU & GPU for 24/7

    CPU, well lets be honest i need it. GPU was just for fun. For my rig its a must, even if its not much. Since games are the only things i can complain, the OC on my CPU dose help allot. So its like less $$$ for more performance and i tend to change my rig once every 3 years.

    Now if i had a 3770k/2700k, 680/7970, 240 GB SSD (to replace my 250 GB games HDD) that wood be another story. And even then i'll OC just to see were it can go :laugh:. It will be like for the first 1.5 years at stock and after that OC stable for 24/7 for the rest of 1.5 years left.
  25. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,333 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Oregon
    CPU and Memory 24/7...GPU when I game only

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page