1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

issue:HD 5870 Frequency hopping

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ntgeralt, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. ntgeralt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hi guys

    here the thing , i played "Geometry Wars Retro Evolved" and i found a little lag there.

    then i check HD 5870 frequency and found this [pic]

    is there something wrong and how to fix it ?

    Attached Files:

  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    From the looks of it the card is throttling, check if the card is getting enough power.
    Also do you have anything playing in the back ground like Youtube or some video?

    First thing we need to know your system specs.
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,532 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    try version GPU-Z.0.5.4 from the TPU archive here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/old/

    what AMD catalyst driver version is installed?

    nb: if you get a chance next time you are logged in; go to UserCP and fill in your system specs hardware brandnames and OS, thanks

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  4. ntgeralt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hi :)
    the catalyst driver i installed is 13.1 win7 whql
    I guess this issue due to low GPU usage
    it does not appear in other games ..so far

    GPU-Z 5.4 seem does not record Frequency during gaming

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You need to enable the second check box on the bottom.
    Anyways I guess the "problem" is just the card is "throttling" because it doesn't have much to do lol.
  6. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    yeahg back in the day it was a simple bios edit to fix throttling, not sure if there is a better way or not
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,745 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Your power supply is 50 watts smaller than recommended by AMD. More than likely you are alright, but right on the edge.
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
  8. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Hi! your potential issues are:

    -Weak PSU (try a friend's 600W+ to see if it solves the issue or plug your GPU card on a spare 400W+ bronze rated PSU to test)
    -Software bug of catalyst or BIOS bug (known old issue that should really not occur on new catalyst drivers)
    -You have accidentally set some power saving management option in windows or catalyst (usually used for laptops). Did you recently upgrade to this 5870? Maybe then your older card's drivers have obselete settings that remained on your system.

    Your card should NOT be throttling when running ANY 3D application even if its an old game.
    ntgeralt says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page