1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

issues with Boot Loader

Discussion in 'General Software' started by ASRockIQ, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    before you read this (I'm totally new at this whole Dual Booting thing) so don't hammer on me.

    hi there,

    installed Windows 7 Build 7100. eh... works great and looks wonderful but i have a few issues here. i can't seem to boot into Windows 7 without setting my Windows 7 Install Files Partition to Active in the Disk Management within Vista. when i restart the Boot Manager comes up and i am able to boot into Windows 7. now if i wanted to boot back into Vista i would have to active the Partition within Windows 7 and restart. all i'm wanting is to be able to boot from Vista and Windows 7 from the Boot Manager without having any errors with Windows 7 while accepting to Boot. i get a missing /ntldr File...


    i have downloaded easyBCD and VistaBootPRO. i find both programs are way similar and do the same jobs. with vistaBootPRO it show Windows 7 and the Windows 7 Install Files Partitions have no direct path to any boot file thus here's the problem/issue of not it letting me boot. what do i have config'ed wrong?

    Image of the entry for Windows 7 and Windows 7 Install Partition under VistaBootPRO

    [​IMG]

    Note: i have added both the Windows 7 and Windows 7 Install Files Entries.

    Here's the Disk Management screen shot in Vista

    [​IMG]
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    esaay bcd has a repair boot loader and other boot loader options, its saved me back when i removed my second hard drive
    ASRockIQ says thanks.
  3. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Do this: Set your W7 drive as BOOT when you select it in BCD :D
  4. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    advice didn't help...
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i dont know what to offer other than using easy BCD, it has a repair function and you cna delete and recreate the bootloader

    the installation disk might have a repair function on it like vista did
    ASRockIQ says thanks.
  6. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    which disk are you referring to when you stated that? the Vista or Windows 7?
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2009
  7. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    the Windows 7 Disk Repair FIXED IT! Yay...
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    okay glad you got it fixed leave a thanks

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page