1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

It is almost time for me to get a new motherboard.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cybie1111, Mar 8, 2006.

  1. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    I am getting tired of this micro ATX board I have. I am going to buy a motherboard this month. I do not have a lot of knowledge of motherboard manufacturers and comments about them will be greatly appreciated. Below is what I am looking for:

    1. AMD motherboard
    2. nVidia nForce 4 SLi chipset
    3. Price range: ~$160 dollars US (due to Microsh*t's OEM XP lisence Sh*t, have to buy a Retail version of XP. But this will be talked about in another thread.)
    4. Also looking for a CPU with this (in another thread)

    I do not know at this moment if I can get enough money and I may have to wait until early April to get this. (mostly depends on what CPU im getting)
  2. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,389 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    are we talking full atx or is your case micro?
    anyways as I've posted before gigabyte for stability asus and dfi for overclocking, asus minor overclocks 10-15% dfi more extreme 20-40%.
  3. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
  4. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    Update: I going to wait until April to buy everything. The main reason is my income. I will not have enough money at the time March ends to buy what I need and to have more flexablility in my choices to buy.
  5. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    *points to self*
    remember me?

    OIh yeah if you reformat your harddrive, you dont need a new license
  6. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,627 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    789
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    if you are waiting till april..might as well wait till june...when AM2 hits...would be a kick in the nuts to buy something big now, and see the new stuff come out 2 months later...

    cheers
    DS
  7. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Yeah, like :nutkick:
  8. Cybie1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    329 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California, USA
    Then I guess a new setup would be the right thing to go. I have other projects that I can do before I refit my system. The first thing I need is a drill and a 100mm(110mm?) hole saw.. :D

    Ps. Keeping my Praetorian case.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page