1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ivy Bridge Desktop Core i3 Processor Lineup Detailed, Lack PCIe Gen. 3.0

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Details of desktop Core i7 and Core i5 "Ivy Bridge" processors in the LGA1155 package have been detailed at lengths, in the past. Core i3 parts based on the same 22 nm Ivy Bridge silicon, however, were relatively known. Tables listing out updated information about the lineup points out that Intel has as many as five Core i3 "Ivy Bridge" desktop processors in the works, all dual-core, and among which two are low-power parts.

    The table also suggests that these Core i3 chips will have reduced features, importantly, the lack of PCI-Express 3.0 bus. When connected to these chips, PCI-E 3.0 add-on cards (such as graphics cards) will function in PCI-Express 2.0 mode. Further, these chips will lack support for AES-NI (accelerates encryption), VT-d (enhanced virtualization), and TXT (security). Certain models in the lineup have faster integrated graphics, denoted by a "5" in the end of the model number. These chips also lack Turbo Boost for the x86 cores, but feature HyperThreading.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Leading the pack is Core i3-3240, clocked at 3.40 GHz, with integrated graphics clocked at 650 MHz / 1020 MHz Dynamic. This is followed by the Core i3-3225, which is clocked at 3.30 GHz, packing faster Intel HD 4000 graphics. The Core i3-3220 is likely the cheapest of the lot, also clocked at 3.30 GHz, but with slower HD 2500 graphics. These three chips have rated TDP of 55W. Moving on to the low-power models, which have 35W TDP, we have the Core i3-3240T, with 3.00 GHz clock speed, and Core i3-3220T, with 2.80 GHz clock speed.

    Sources: Zol.com.cn, VR-Zone
     
    cadaveca and Ikaruga say thanks.
  2. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Not a huge deal but still ashame.
     
  3. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    384 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    No 3.0? No problem.

    I'm more interested in a Core i3 with HD4000 graphics, similar concept to the i3 2105.

    EDIT: I see the i3 3225 :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  4. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    871 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    why no vt-d:(
     
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Because it's a budget CPU.
     
  6. mcloughj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    307 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Can't imagine anyone using an i3 that would need pci-e 3. Doubt anyone is going to be running a 300 euro graphics card with a sub 100 euro processor..
     
  7. xaira

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    209 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    3240t + 7750= ultimate polar bear friendly PC
     
  8. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Don't confuse VT-d with VT-x. VT-d is seldom needed in the desktop (or even workstation) space. VT-d is reserved for servers.
     
  9. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    "were relatively known"

    What is that supposed to mean ?
     
  10. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    The IB i5's are going to have HTing o_O

    Or at least the 35xx series is going to.
     
  11. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,266 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Not at all. Intel I3 is the nowadays Celeron. ;)
     
  12. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Without the overclocking potential of celerons... so yea, still a shame :(
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,103 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,157
    Yeah, the 3570K is looking like it is going to be the sweet spot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. smartidiot89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden, Linköping
    Shame there doesn't seem to be a 35W model with HD 4000 graphics:cry:
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    they need to make some lower end unlocked chips, even if they have to do dualcore.

    there should be

    dualcore unlocked

    quadcore unlocked

    quadcore with HT unlocked

    AND BE AFFORDABLE!

    fuck you intel and your super high priced cpus. $300+ is not acceptable for a cpu no matter how many cores it has. unless it can clean our houses and cook us dinner no one should be paying you upwards of $1200 for a single cpu.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,103 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,157
    Remember, AMD charged $1000+ for their top processors when they were on top too. When you have no competition, you can charge whatever people will pay.

    Though I think they need to have way more unlocked and overclockable processors. I miss overclocking the snot out of $50 Celerons. Cutting off the low end overclocking has lost them money, as it has guaranteed that any low-mid range rig I build will be an AMD.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Does anyone find it odd that the two unlocked high end socket 1155 processors wont have 3 of the 4 Intel Technologies as shown here?
    Why wouldn't they have it when other lower end ones do?
     

    Attached Files:

    • ivy.JPG
      ivy.JPG
      File size:
      64.1 KB
      Views:
      68
  18. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    OCers turn them off anyway, so why have them? BUT... they should knock the price down because of the lack of them because they arent including the features they should have
     
  20. Platibus

    Platibus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    88 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Mexico
  21. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Celeron and Pentiums based on the Sandy Bridge micro-architecture still exist.
     
  22. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Still only 6/8 mb L3 ? And whats the maximum memory voltage, 1.5 v or less ?

    Dont really need to know after i bought the ram.
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    just wanna make sure, are the i7 3930k and 3960x don't support pci-e 3.0 ?
     
  24. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    871 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    When you need to pay the electricity bill of your co-located little server box from your salary, every cent counts:)
     
  25. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Alright fair enough. I don't know much about OCing so are you able to explain what the features are meant for and why the OCers would turn them off?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page