1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ivy Bridge-E Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MetalRacer, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,399 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,130
  2. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Not even tested yet but will do tonight. Was so frustrated over the 4,6 GHz OC-wall which seem to be fixed now. I got it rock stable at 4,7 GHz 1,375 vcore which is barely acceptable for 24/7
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  3. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Swapped my 4960X with another yesterday and the new one looks much better so far. Stable at 4.9 GHz with only 1.44 vcore :D
    Going to do some more testing tonight.
    Vario says thanks.
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,399 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,130
    How are temps? Also, which BIOS are you using?
  5. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Temps with water-cooling only(360+280 radd in dedicated CPU-loop) hits 65 C on the hottest core full load, with chiller in the loop(water temp set to 16 C) I'm down to 50 C.
    Still using 4501 bios here.

    Just picked up 70L of LN2 and one more 4960X for a bench session :D
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  6. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    662 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    NYC
    QF7Z ES on h2o with R4BE

    4x4GB @ 3000

    [​IMG]

    8X4GB 1.195V

    [​IMG]
    m1dg3t, MetalRacer and Random Murderer say thanks.
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,399 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,130
  8. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Congrats on the new chip it’s looking good hope the other one is even better.:toast:

    Don’t forget to share some of those LN2 benches with us.:)

    I’m waiting for one of my R4E’s to come back from RMA before I juice the 4930k.


    Great setup man! :rockout:

    Is that 0076 BIOS compatible with the current R4E’s?
  9. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    662 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    NYC
    2.1+V

    I dont think so. BE has a lot of new memory profiles and new (cpu, pcie clock, memory and pch) tweakers paradise on this initial ES bios.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  10. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    A little BCLK overclocking.

    [​IMG]
    dumo and Random Murderer say thanks.
  11. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    662 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    NYC
    3100 air with new bios

    32m cas10 1T doable @ 3020 ~ 3080 air

    3100s must be threshold of air to cold cooling on ram

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
    MetalRacer and m1dg3t say thanks.
  12. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Jesus christ! Dumo, is that 8 x 4 @ ~3100? :respect:

    I'm gonna sell all my 'puters... :p
    dumo says thanks.
  13. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    662 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    NYC
    Its 4X4 GB
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  14. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    ^^ Impressive still :D
    dumo says thanks.
  15. Vego

    Vego

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    does any1 have some experience with 4820k?
  16. Vego

    Vego

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    ok, so this is me at 4700mhz, didnt play with it much, just got it and 4,7 was 1st use :)
    [​IMG]
    MetalRacer and Random Murderer say thanks.
  17. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    662 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    NYC
    R4BE ram on air tests wth quad Samsung and psc

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    MetalRacer says thanks.
  18. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I've been trying to OC my 4930k by adjusting just the core ratio and the CPU voltage. I started at 4.2GHz, 1.32v and increased the voltage in increments of 0.005v. My goal is 4.4/4.5GHz and I started at 1.35v for this. Increasing by 0.005v once again, I went all the way up to 1.465v. At no point was I able to find a point of stability. I was getting BSOD's constantly. However, around 4.4GHz, 1.410v, I was able to boot up and run some P95. I ran a blend torture test for about 5-10 minutes and it seemed fine. What started to happen though was that my PC would instantly shut down, and then re-boot. as I would open various applications.I have also tried other combinations proved successful by others and am still without luck.

    I then used the Asrock EZ OC setting of 4.2GHZ, which seemed to stable but about half an hour ago, I just had another BSOD. Am I doing something wrong? Do I have a bad chip? or do I need to push it even further?

    Thanks :)
  19. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    300 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    If you need 1.32v to do 4.2 I would say you just got bad chip .
    Did you go up slowly with clock's , I would of thought 4.0-4.2 to be sweet spot where stock voltage would be enough (like in the 1.12-1.14 range under load) .

    I assume you tried bumping up LLC at notch or two to help with Vdroop and maybe increase CPU current limits a bit .
    Paladone says thanks.
  20. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Well thats the thing, it wasn't even stable at 1.32. It ran with p95 for about 30 minutes and then when I opened WoW, my PC just crashed.

    I should also note, when I try higher clocks like 4.5GHz, 1.45v, my PC will restart and the screen will go black with a ticking white line in the top left, much like you're typing and then stop.
  21. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    300 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Ok, try smaller bump to like 4.0 and whatever your stock voltage is just bump it up 020mv , so if you were stable at 3.6 at 1.100v then try 1.120@4.0ghz as a start point , if thats unstable bump it another 10mv .

    This all assumes your stable at stock voltages .

    Oh ,one thing forgot to mention on ram , it might pay to back it down to 1600 to make sure its not affecting OC .
    Paladone says thanks.
  22. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I actually was just able to run an OC of 4.1GHz at stock voltage. I went up to 4.2 and got a BSOD after 5 minutes of P95. I had to change my RAM timings for my 2400MHz RAM, if I put it back to 1600, do I need to change the timings also?

    Also no, I didn't increase LLC, It is currently at level 5, what should I up it to?
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014
  23. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    300 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Ok, first what is your stock voltage at load .

    On LLC some MB run stock with high level others stock/auto is low level . I don't know your MB but know MSI run high level as stock and Asus run low level as stock .
    Try first manual voltage , write down what bios says and note what CPU-Z syas at idle and load . You want Vdroop to be not to big but for sure you don't want it to overshoot when load is applied . I would try level 4 to see how voltage changes under load with manual voltage .
    For speeds of 4.2 (mild OC ) you probably don't need much LLC but higher OC you probably need some adjustments , depending on how much it drops on load .

    http://www.legitreviews.com/asrock-x79-extreme9-motherboard-review_1851/14

    So with 4.2+ try level 3 for starters and lower it a notch or so for higher OC like 4.5+ .

    On your ram, there should be XMP profiles you can just select speed , this depends on ram SPD and how many levels are stored . If your afraid of losing timings, if you manually set them , you

    Also before changing to much in bios ,if you have it set afor speed and its stable, make a profile so you can reload if needed at later date if MB supports profiles, most do .
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014
    Paladone says thanks.
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,747 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,191
    If you're not stable at 4.2GHz and 1.32v, going higher isn't going to fix it. You need to find the stable point before going any higher.
    Paladone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I managed to stabilize it at 4.2GHz, 1.295v. At what voltage should I up the LLC? It was on by default (Level 5)
    EDIT: at stock, 100% load, it ran at 1.25v
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page