1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ivy Bridge GPU to support up to 4K x 4K resolution

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ViperXTR, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
  2. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Can it run Crysis?
     
  3. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    at .001 frame per second i guess
     
  4. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,656 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    Banned. :eek:
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,573 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,109
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I think that's more than even DisplayPort can handle.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Nah, it was fitting in this situation. :D
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,317 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    no it wasn't!
     
    Damn_Smooth and NdMk2o1o say thanks.
  8. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Come on now, if Intel is going to over-exaggerate what is possible by this much, they need to pass the Crysis test.

    I would love to be wrong, but I don't think their IGP is going to come out and compete with a high end multi GPU setup right now. Hell, I don't even think the 600 and 7000 series cards will be pushing that resolution at anything close to playable.
     
  9. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,518 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Location:
    AZ
    teh meh, supporting up to 4kx4k resolution is not equal to actually handling most applications at that resolution.

    gaming at that res on an igp is out of the question (unless perhaps they're smoking the same stuff as the unlimited details guys are, or perhaps they think 30 frames per minute is good seamless gameplay lol)

    video decoding sounds great, but is it the igp running it or is it the cpu?

    we all know intel's cpu's can process like crazy.
     
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    To me it implies HTPC support. But I would also like to see HTPC software that would expound on this.
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,306 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Will it run Crysis? No, it's just a dedicated hardware video decoder. Games will still run like crap on Intel IGP's...
     
  12. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,625 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    941
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    It will run crysis at 200fps with tri 790s.... no really! Sorry, nothing will run crysis decent, it was just too poorly ported..... but I sure want me an ivy bridge!
     
  13. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,300 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    4Kx4K res, with a stunning 15FPS at the desktop running the Aero theme...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page