1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Jetway Working on DDR2 and DDR3 Supportive ''Combo'' AM3 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    After AMD embraced the DDR3 memory standard, the eventuality always existed where motherboard vendors could release motherboards that supported both DDR2 and DDR3 memory standards, to support the complete spectrum of processors built for the AM2, AM2+ and AM3 sockets with appropriate memory modules installed. The Jetway MA3-79GDG COMBO will be one of the first in its kind.

    Based on the AMD 790GX + SB750 chipset, the MA3-79GDG COMBO holds two DDR2 DIMM slots for DDR2-1066 MHz memory, and two slots to support DDR3-1066 MHz memory. Memory support is subject to the processor being used. The motherboard comes in the micro-ATX form-factor and goes ahead with providing support for the ATI CrossFireX multi-GPU standard apart from its Radeon HD 3300-class IGP. The rest of this motherboard consists of a standard feature-set, with single PCI and PCI-Express x1 slots, 8-channel audio with optical and co-axial SPDIF audio connectivity, IGP video output through DVI, HDMI and D-Sub connectors, gigabit Ethernet and eSATA. This motherboard will reach stores next month and hopes to cash-in on its biggest USP: upgrade-friendliness. Its price isn't known at this point.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Kei and kid41212003 say thanks.
  2. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I didn't know this is possible...
     
  3. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    While I don't hate any of those colors individually (yeah, I'd take a pink and black board ;)), the mix is just... yuck.

    I'm glad I got all the problems worked out with my DFI LP JR 790GX board as this Jetway is only the second mATX 790GX board that I know of.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The memory controller is on the CPU's so I don't see why not.
     
  5. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Yea, I'm pretty satisfied w/ my LP JR 790GX as well, the layout and color scheme is nice (on the DFI), this might be a nice alternative however the SATA port layout keeps me away as any full length cards will block them (unlike the JR where it is angled)
     
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,021 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    as long as the boards not that yucky brown or sick colour ill pink purple orange

    hmmn a white board i saw once looked uber

    yeah the controllers are on the cpu, BOTH ddr2 and 3 so its possible
     
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    While the coloring server little functional purpose to us and is therefore only cosmetic, to the AVERAGE and below PC consumer, the coloring is perfect.

    Instructions:

    Stick the RAM in the pink slots, etc.

    Put your graphics card in the yellow slot, etc.

    I know this sounds ridiculous, but out there... in the "real world"... full of consumer hims and hers... that color coding saves a lot of tech support time.
     
  8. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Ha ya know, I was actually thinking about this yesterday when I was reading an article on the AM3 processors. When I read that the cpu had memory controllers for both DDR2 and DDR3 I kinda thought this would be possible. I think it would be a great way to go if you had an AM3 CPU and wanted to wait to get DDR3. Very good idea. I'm sure we will see allot more of this!
     
  9. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Nice looking, colorful and highly functional board. I like it, doesn't even need UV paint mod :p

    Oh and He'll be happy :)
     
  10. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    This is cute and all, but you'll only get 2 memory slots no matter which way you cut it. IMO, they should have had 2 DDR2 slots, and 4 DDR3 slots. Hopefully they continue in this direction and make a full ATX board with 4 PCIe slots. Might be waiting for a new SB/NB set to come out from AMD. They're about due for one around March I think..
     
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    WOW that is good to hear finally some real innovation leave it to jet way to pave the way !!
    Now if they could just provide a CPU socket for Intel and one for AMD that would be well just out of this world !
     
  12. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    They managed to cram the entire rainbow in there....



    Interesting that the same socket supports both procs, and it will route the DDR type accordingly. Too bad they don't use the same module pinouts or you could have the same connections and slots and have only 4 that could run either type depending on the proc.
     
  13. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    about time they did this. i was talking about this for a while now. great going Jetway.

    Incidentally, there have been combo DDR2/DDR3 mobos on the Intel side for quite some time now, the ones based on P35, X38 and P45, i believe so it only makes sense that AMD gets some too since the CPU has an IMC supporting both types of RAM.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  14. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    This is true ASrock has been doing that for ages over on the intel side.
    This is alright seeing that its the only 790GX board that does this.

    and that there are only 3 of them on the market, techinically 4 but the 3rd biostar mobo you can't get in the states.
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's already been done in the past. ECS did it, with some of their LGA-775 motherboards that could be converted to socket-939 using platform cards costing as less as $25.
     
  16. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    nice bord... but only for the ... middle performance :)
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,472 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    i wouldnt doubt if they have DDR3 boards ready for launch aswell, considering they have DDR2 down with the 790X-790GX.
     
  18. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Ugly colors! My wife could make something nicer than this.
     
  19. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    no one is going to do crossfire because u will run out of sata ports. lol, why they didnt point them outwards :confused:
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    why nothing really needs over 8GB which this mobo supports using 2x4GB sticks. most people are more than ok with 2x2GB i do high end 3D CAD with the PC in my specs and it doesn't even stutter
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I don't think I will ever use more than 2 sticks. 4gb of RAM is more than enough..
     
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    YEah Intel has boards that does this MSI, ECS, etc. Not the best thing but hell its better than nothing. Personally I wouldnt use a Jetway though.
     
  23. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    There's this crazy saying in the IT industry... something about 640k of memory... Cannot remember who was quoted, probably some guy who had no idea what he was talking about.:rolleyes:

    Technology moves forward. It does not stand still. I see no reason why a normal motherboard would have 4 slots of memory, yet this one gives you two of each flavor. Consider it is supposed to be an upgrade path, the incentive should be on the future. After going from 2x1gb to 2x2gb+2x1gb to 4x2gb, I wouldn't want to go back. Keep in mind that DDR3 does not currently have 4GB single sticks on the market. When they do come, they'll have a premium tied onto em. It'll be more cost effective to have 4x2gb than 2x4gb,
     
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    seems old FX better quality
     
  25. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I feel the heatsink over the SB750 is too small. I run a 2-drive RAID 0 on my SB600 and it heats up pretty bad.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page