1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Jump to intel

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    im looking to make the switch from AMD to intel.

    here is what I have so far... any suggestions? I dont want to go over 500.

    PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

    CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($199.99 @ Newegg)
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U9B SE2 37.9 CFM CPU Cooler ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
    Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($114.99 @ Newegg)
    Memory: Mushkin Blackline 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($88.98 @ NCIX US)
    Total: $463.95
    (Prices include shipping and discounts when available.)
    (Generated by PCPartPicker 2012-09-04 16:50 EDT-0400)
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    So what are you going to do with the FX8150 then? You can reuse the Hyper 520 and the ram if you wish, and get 3570K if its the same price as the 2500K
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,696 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,101
    I don't see the point unless you plan on using more than one GPU.
     
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,906 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,181
    Ditch the 2500k, and get a 3570k or better.
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    But 2500K and 3570K are the same :wtf:
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,696 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,101
    No they aren't. Check reviews as clock for clock the 3570K is faster.
     
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    if you need a cpu cooler i have two you can choose from and ill give it to you for the cost of shipping
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  8. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    I'd get 8GB of faster ram instead of the 16GB
     
  9. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Get a new GPU.
     
    MxPhenom 216 and erocker say thanks.
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Keep your memory and cooler and just get a Ivy Bridge 3570k and motherboard. Or screw going intel right now and just get a new GPU. It'll help you more in gaming then doing a CPU/platform change.
     
  11. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    see the thing is, half the time people tell me to upgrade my GPU. the other half of the time people tell me to keep the 5850 and swithc to intel cause it will improved my FPS by 5-10 FPS. the big issue i have right now is with Arma II bottlenecking. Hence why Im interested in switching from my FX-8120 to intel.
     
  12. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    660Ti or 670 will be far more helpful than a new cpu
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913

    Keep what you've got. The FX-8120 is still pretty high end, it can't bottleneck a single GPU.

    Switch to Intel you'll probably get the same frame rate, maybe a slight improvement like <5FPS average, I doubt any improvement noticeable to justify spending $500. Not sure how multi threaded Arma II is but you might even get less FPS.

    Upgrade just the GPU. It's the only way to guarantee a FPS improvement in high double digits.

    (also it's not the best time to be switching sockets. Piledriver is a few months away. It might be a quick and cheap upgrade solution if you decide to change the CPU alone)
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  14. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    How would you explain that bottleneck? Isn't your 5850 under 99% load in game?
     
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ducky you hould have just listened to everyone in team speak telling you to send your msi GTX670 back for a refund to buy the Non Reference gigabyte.
     
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    But 2500K clocks higher runs cooler etcetcetc...

    They are more or less the same, similar enough for me to recommend getting the cheaper of the two or 3570K if price is within spitting distance.
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,976 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,109
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Why does an AMD A8-3800 APU beat out an 1100T?

    [​IMG]

    Can you explain THAT bottleneck?



    2500K DOES NOT RUN COOLER.

    Yes, 3570k reports higher temperatures, but it is against physics for 3570k to run "hotter", when it consumes less power.

    That drop in power consumption is pretty big, too.


    Ivybridge CPUs have far higher memory speeds possible, too, and memory performance out of the box is faster, which si a big part of why Ivy excels VS Sandy.
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,696 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,101
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,568 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    your setup is perfectly fine for a single or multi gpu set up just upgrade the HD 5850 you'll get more of an improvement
     
    Soup says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Not really. Less power but concentrated on a smaller area results in higher temps.

    However it's the crappy paste instead of solder what makes temps high afaik.
     
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    I will have to disagree with you there, 2500K does indeed run cooler than the 3570 due to the poor heat dissipating powers of the 3570K. My 25w soldering iron is far hotter than my 65w cpu, care to explain that?

    But yes, the 3570K is superior compared to the 2500K in almost all measures, only if you choose to utilise them. Getting 1600Mhz ram? Not too much different between 2500k/3570K. Using 1866Mhz ram? 3570K wins hands down. You have a good heatsink? 3570K clocks almost as good as 2500K, and wins hands down. Sticking with stock clocks? 3570K stock is better than 2500K stock.
     
  22. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
  23. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Actually for some reason most of the time the GPU lists as running under ~14% load with graphics set high with AA off and AF maxed.

    I would have but my laptop died and I use that for school. School is more important than a GPU.:D
     
  24. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,568 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    is your cpu overclocked
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    That is not CPU bottleneck. It's something else. Have you tried different drivers?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page