1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just 2 quick questions.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, Oct 7, 2007.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I just wanted to know if it was ok to use this PCI-E cable on my graphic card because the original PCI-E cable, one of the yellow cable came out of the molex so I was wondering if it was ok to use this:

    [​IMG]

    Second thing is that my HDD are started to make humming noises like a silent buzz. I went on Crysis and it started buzzing.

    Thanks in advance :D.

    Edit: I had the original PCI-E cable with one molex not two.
  2. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I just had to take out the drive cages on my Antec 900 just to blow some dust off etc too but that made no difference.
  3. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yeah its fine to use that molex to 6 pin connector for the graphics card.

    I'm not so sure about your HDD noise.. but maybe Crysis is trying to use pagefiles which is causing the HD to write and read them and making noise? I would download HDD Health and check out the drive if I were you, just to be safe :)
    J-Man says thanks.
  4. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I will thanks :D.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,585 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What else is attached to that power cable that you are connecting the PCI-e adapter to? For most stable results I've found giving the GPU it's own power line is best. On my old P4 system with x850 xt pe, I at first ran a splitter like you pictured in-line w/HDD power, my HDD's were noiser, and the x850 wasn't as stable, especially at OC'd speeds. When I gave that card it's own power cable with no other component connected to it, the card became more stable and OC-able, but results may vary...
  6. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i go a question to is there also a pci=e to 2 molex connectors? so i can feed my x1950 from a fresh line
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
  8. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    aint that molex to pci-e?
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    yeah but you said so you can feed your card from a fresh line...meaning you'd need what I showed you...I'm confused :confused: why would you want pci-e to molex???
  10. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    yes ofcourse pci-e to molex :p
    becus i cant use pci-e. so i want it to molex
    or i gota make 1 my self ?
  11. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    but please explain how a pci-e to molex adapter is going to help you "feed your X1950 from a fresh line"?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page