1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just a little doubt

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by El_Tucu, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. El_Tucu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi! Im new, so probably you answered this question before, have mercy with that and my bad english.

    I've got this 8600GT, and isnt the best thing to play Assassins Creed or my future Clear Sky, so im planning to upgrade to a ATi 4850. But that isnt the point.

    The point is that I like nVidia GPU acelerated physics.

    So, i can plug a 4850 in my first PCIe 16x slot, plug the 8600 on the second PCIe 4x slot and install PhysiX driver? It depends on the GeForce nVidia drivers?

    What should i do to get nVidia PhysiX on the 8600 and the ATi 4850 as main GPU to work perfectly?
     
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Theoretically yes. In practice it doesn't work out so well yet. I believe in vista it is as of yet impossible, in xp it's a bitch. This should however get better when official drivers are released, still beta atm. At least, that's what I've gathered. Please fill out full system specs in the user cp so we can better help you, and welcome to TPU.
     
    El_Tucu says thanks.
  3. El_Tucu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks!, i've actualized the specs in the CP.

    Im going to buy a new PSU, because my current isn't powerfull enough.

    I have the 177.98 beta and XP SP3 (i don't like Vista)
     
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,553 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    like Farlex said - in the future there is no reason why not.
     
  5. El_Tucu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, i plug the 4850 and the 8600. Install Catalyst, then install PhysiX driver and select the 8600 as PPU? it doesn't need the GeForce drivers?
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    Why not throw the money straight at nvidia? the GTX260+ is in your range, then just run the CUDA driver as well.

    There is no monitor in your specs, so I assume you are gaming at 1280X1024!?!?
     
  7. El_Tucu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry but in my country, the prices are badly up to date (the 260 is unaffordable) Example: Shappire ATi Radeon 4850 512Mb is U$S300, and a GeForce 260 is U$S450. Im gamming between 1024x768 and 1280x1024. Antialiasing isnt my priority, just "high" or "very high" settings ingame. Specifically i want Enhanced Full Dynamic Lighting on DX9 in Clear Sky, with mentioned resolutions.

    Well, thanks to all of you. Im going to check prices here in my city and get a decision from there.

    Bye.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 22, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page