1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just bought 3 GTX480's...

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Dabode, Jun 12, 2010.

1. Dabode New Member

Thanks Received:
    ...and am wondering what to do about cooling. Currently have everything at stock clock speeds, and stock air cooling, but I've seen the temps on these guys climb up over 80 degrees already. Having them in tri-sli doesn't really give them much breathing room. I plan on going with liquid cooling, but other than my Corsair H50, I'm not very experienced with it. From the info I have gotten, I'm thinking about doing 3 separate loops (1 for each GPU) with a 120.3 rad on each. Is that overkill maybe? Also, if I do go with the three loops, am I going to need a separate pump for each loop, or can I get away with a single good, reliable pump, say something like:

-->RES-->PUMP-->GPU1-->RAD1-->GPU2-->RAD2-->GPU3-->RAD3-->RES

Also, any idea how dangerous it is to be running them with air cooling like they are now? I've been leaving the case cover off, and positioning a fan to blow directly on them for now. Is that a little risky? Here's a picture of my rig atm. It's not finished yet as I'm currently shopping for a new case.
    [​IMG]

2. Kantastic

Kantastic

Thanks Received:
    I doubt it's 'dangerous' to run them like that, there's a reason why there is foam on the PCB!

Leaving the side panel off w/ airflow directed at the cards won't do any harm at all, only lower temperatures so that's fine as well. I'm not a WC expert but I highly doubt you need 3 triple rads to cool 3 Fermis. A single triple rad could probably cool all 3 of them down better then the stock cooling solution.

Dabode says thanks.
  3. Dabode New Member

Thanks Received: