1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just bought 6970, now is my CPU smoked.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by simaomacaco, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi peep,

    I just ordered a lovely 6970 For my rig, I am now thinking that it's going to need me to make a move on my old CPU. My system will be something like:

    6600 Conroe @ 3.2
    8gb memo at 400
    6970
    775 chipsets board
    2400x1600 Dell monitor

    I was thinking of spending on a 3g duo 2 wolf dale and see if i can getting above 4g. The i7 route is super expensive needing new board, mem and CPU. Wolfdale route is 200bucks tops.

    I mostly play games BTW.

    Thoughts? Please.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Good luck trying to get near 4ghz on that intel board, I don't think you will. Also you have to make sure it supports a wolfdale as its a very old chipset 975.
     
  3. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I just noticed that waas out of date, it's now an ASUS p45Q-e, updating now, will report back. My bad.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,322 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    04578
    better off with a cheap quad then another dual core q9550 or better
     
  5. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I was wondering about that, whether to go for lower overall Ghz vs more cores.
     
  6. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    incorrect. people still use the asus commando for high fsb oc sessions, its a intel 965 chipset but still holds records, the problem with them is therier pci-e gen 1 slots and other old features.
     
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Incorrect, He updated his specs since then, it was originally showing an Intel 975 board :rolleyes:
     
  8. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yup, Sorry for confusion. Bad axe lost a capacitor and torched a GPU some time ago.

    Is there that much to be lost by staying with the old board and a new quad v I7 / i5 ?

    I generally worked on the principle that GPU is the bottleneck, now i think things have moved a bit for my rig.
     
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    A decent 775 quad will be a big upgrade and hold you good for another couple of years
     
  10. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks, that's certainly a cheaper option than a complete Mobo CPU rebuild route.

    Q9550 seems like the flavor on various forums?

    Cheaper options apparently do not over clock quite as they used to?
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,322 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    04578
    pretty much if your gonna overclock 9550 is the minimum to get
     
  12. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    The q9550 is a very good cpu and clocks awesome aswell.
     
  13. xrealm20

    xrealm20

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    Agreed - I've got my q9550 humming along at a nice 4.0ghz ---
     
  14. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Okay peep, I have a choice of QX9650 or Q9550. Price differing is an extra 50 for the QX9660. What's your thoughts, OC'ing experts?
     
  15. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    if i was buying today i would go with the 9650 over the 9550, i went with teh 9550 and its lower multi stopped me clocking any higher than 4.55ghz :|

    both will serve you well if your p45 is upto it :thumb:
     
  16. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    He isnt going to be overclocking past 4.5Ghz anytime soon. And Most q9550 users hit 4.0-4.25 and dont really try for cpu-z screenies.

    I say get the qx9650 because the spec sheet gives it a unlocked multiplier, and a higher stock clock compared to the q9550.

    after that, both the q9550 and qx9650 are identical, but its worth just 50 extra dollars for a unlocked multi, and 3.2Ghz stock clock.

    In my opinion, that would guarantee a 4.0Ghz 24/7 overclock just about.

    he will be extremely happy with either processor.
     
  17. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I will be cooling with air, 4ghz is my desired outcome with this project.

    The QX9650 I am looking at is advertised at 3ghz and 1333 FSB speed.. and the price difference between q9550 to qx9650 is 30, seems like the QX9650 is the winner.

    -------------

    My P5Q held up nicely with my current OC attempts.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Q or QX9650 would be my choice, if cheap enough overclocking should be no sweat on a QX9650.

    definitely need a new CPU tho, I've just changed out a dual core Athlon 2 running @ 3.5ghz that couldn't even feed my 9800GTX enough juice, let alone a 6970 which is easily 2-3x as beastly.
     
  19. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,697 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,784
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    No love for the Q9450? I kno its hard to find now as the 9400 has replaced it, but i've had mine as high asw 3.6 on air :D :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  21. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    nice dude! that is a badass price on that cpu as well!! those used to be over $1000 at launch. you will have plenty of fun with it and it will hit 4ghz no sweat with a simply voltage bump and multi bump, or you can up the fsb and voltage, either way it will be a breeze with the 45nm quads and we are all here to help.
     
  22. simaomacaco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Arrive and installed. Initial playing has it running at 3.65 with 10x365fsb. 14500 3dmark 06 score thus far.

    Moving to a new thread for stage 2 of my little project.

    Help with basic 4g OC of QX9650 on air
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page