1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just completed my new build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by BamaColeman, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    I just finished my new build. I used the following components:

    i7 3770K CPU
    Asus P8Z77-v LE Plus Motherboard
    Patriot Viper 16GB DDR3 1600 Mhz RAM
    Samsung 830 Series SSD (OS Only)
    Windows 8
    Antec Kuhler H2O 620 Liquid Cooling System
    ATI Radeon HD 4850 1GB DDR3
    LG BluRay Writer
    Corsair HX750 PSU
    Phantom 410 Case

    The cable management on this system is incredible. Very clean. System boots in under 8 seconds.
    Anything else that you guys can think of that I am missing?
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,449 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,543
    Pictures please:)

    Looks pretty good. A little weak on the GPU, but still a good card. Do you plan to game much?
    BamaColeman says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    How do I post pics?

    Can you quickly let me know how to post a pic. New to the board.

    The GU was a holdover from my old build. Need to upgrade. New to computer gaming. I just got Skyrim V
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Host pictures here(free, anonymous):

    http://www.techpowerup.org/

    once you've uploaded, click the button under the picture, it'll make a link you can just paste on here.

    If you need help with how to generate the link, you'll see that there is like a yellow stamp in the quick-reply box, click it to pop up a window that you can put the picture's url into(you'll be able to paste it in there), and it'll make the code for it to show when you push OK.
    BamaColeman and HammerON say thanks.
  5. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    Here goes...

    [​IMG]
    jmcslob, Aquinus, grunt_408 and 10 others say thanks.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Worked great. ;)
  7. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Nice. I'd be worried about dust getting in with all that negative pressure, though.
  8. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    what should I do?

    Negative pressure? I hadn't thought about that. Advice?
  9. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    That is an amazing cabling job. Holy moly. I can never get it to look that good, maybe it's just me :D

    Congrats on the build.
    stinger608 and BamaColeman say thanks.
  10. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    Thanks

    Thanks. I have to confess, the case is very conducive to cable management. It is a Phantom 410, and it is awesome. I will post a picture of the the entire system from the outside. The case reminds me of a Star Wars Storm Trooper. Ha
  11. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,976 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,353
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh: I'm like you Happita, I can never seem to get near as clean of a wire management as that. :laugh:

    Awesome build and very awesome wire management!!! :respect::respect::respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    I like the cable management as well, very nice for a first time build. You must have p...a...t...ience. Something I do not. Next up benchmarks!
  13. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,146 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,652
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Lookin' nice. The fan on the Kuhler looks lonely. Maybe add another so it doesnt suffer depression from loneliness? :D
  15. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    Okay

    Any suggestions on benchmark software. Also, someone mentioned positive pressure in my system. Any suggestions as to clear that issue?
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    Location:
    Oregon
    3Dmark 11

    Positive pressure is just having more fans going in then out. Keeps dust out of the cracks
  17. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    Upgraded my video card

    Upgraded to a Sapphire HD 7950 OC card. Runs very nice. The only thing that I need now is a larger SSD.

    BTW, I had a very curious development happen to me. My SSD started filling up. It just houses my OS and some apps, but it went from 18GB of free space down to 6. Very puzzling.

    I did some digging, and I deactivated my indexing, but that didn't seem to work. What I ended up having to do was disable hibernation. If you need a quick lesson on what I did let me know. It freed up my SSD to 19GB of free space.

    Later
    Retrophe and tokyoduong say thanks.
  18. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    Nova mark

    My Novamark score is 2175
  19. Hillbilly

    Hillbilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    44 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Very Nice :toast:
  20. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Cool, I always knew they have to use my SSD to wake up faster but didn't know it took that much from it. My comp does wake up from sleep/hibernation in about 3-5 secs compared to a regular start up of about 10 secs so it doesn't really matter. I'm going to do the same thing to my computer since it boots so fast that I have to wait for my LAN to connect anyways.

    Thanks for the info.
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,468 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,009
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Clean! VERY CLEAN! looks like a great build
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,848
    Location:
    Oregon
  23. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Yes, you can mount it any direction you want and have the fan in any configuration you want as long as it is the correct size.

    No, there's no air in the system unless it is defective. Closed comes out of the factory that way. I like the closed systems. A lot less maintenance if any at all. Smaller size overall. Cheaper...much much cheaper.

    The downside with closed system is fixed hoses so it limits how far you can mount it or which direction. Sometimes, the tubes are on the stiff side instead of flexible. You can't stick the tubes through the water cooling pre drilled holes. If you have a big case and you want to mount it on the far top part of the case, the tubes may not reach. Also it may cause conflict with wiring if you have bad cable management. You can't change tubes/radiators/pumps(it's cheap enough to just buy a new one)
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  24. BamaColeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Deep South
    URpgraded my GPU to the MSI HD 7950

    Great card, and the missing component to my build. I'm very pleased with the performance!
  25. zilla New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Great job :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page