1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

just got this wd raptor but it doesnt seem right

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by regan1985, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,640 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,378
    umm "WD Caviar SE SATA II " thats not a raptor .. even though the title says so .. talk to the seller about what he is actually selling .. send your lawyers at him getting a wd raptor 150 gb out of him
  3. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,405 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    yea thats definitely no raptor although if you read the bottom of the page the description says its not it says its a caviar
    "WD Caviar SE SATA II hard drives combine 300 MB/s transfer rate and 8 MB cache for high performance. These reliable drives are lightning fast, but they still deliver technologically advanced acoustics."
    so i guess he put raptor in the title just to get someone to bid on it like u did
  4. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh its ok he is selling a raptor so i will try and get that for the same price, i will send ebay a request for it as he didnt give the right title:)
  5. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    w1zzard i need your help you normally know about these kind of things, my new sata2 drive isnt being picked up in windows?any idea why?
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,640 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,378
    does the bios detect it? is the onboard sata controller enabled in the bios? if it is set to ahci you need to instlal its driver i think, in "ide" no driver needed
  7. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh its in bios, i have enabled the sata conroler and enabled ide rether then sata but it seems to pick it up at a scsi drive and doesnt set it as a drive :twitch:
  8. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    this is what it says in device manager??????
    [​IMG]
  9. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    You need to initialize the disk, either with software from the manufacturer, or Computer Management > Disk Management.
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,640 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,378
    oooh you got a brand new disk? go to computer management - storage, right click the disk and select initialize

    mm 500 gigs of pron storage
  11. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    My post wasnt good enough for ya Wiz???? J/K :toast:
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
  12. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yup i wouldnt pay for that sucker at all, and theres no way your getting a 150gb raptor out of him for £70 :roll: id just tell him the title was totally wrong and agree to not complete the purchase but as a token of good jesture you will leave good feedback if he does

    "if it looks to good to be true IT IS" :wtf:
  13. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    ... which is btw finally forbidden on eBay Europe from 2007/01/01 on.
    Damn old search results.. :twitch:
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,640 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,378
    sorry i didnt notice your post below the screenshot :)
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Dude I want 500 gigs of pure pr0n!
  16. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    lol sorry mad night out and have sorted out the disk in disk management! 4 some reson i 4got to make a partition! why i am i sooo slow sometimes!!! cheers people yeh i need to backup my porn along with a few avi films i have backed up:laugh:
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,747 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,191
    You're not even old enough dude... :slap:
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page