1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just installed new cpu and ask if someone can verify for me..

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by shevanel, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    can someone critique my application of tim

    I just dropped my first quad into an evga 780i ftw, a q9550.

    here is a screen of cpuid and real temp can someone tell me if these numbers are up to par for temps and volts?

    [​IMG]


    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2009
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,976 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Looks spot-on to me. You can probablly lower the voltage yet.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    I agree....most motherboards set default at 1.2ish volts, even tho the chip may be stable with less. Temps seem spot on as well.
     
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I just realized two cores were disabled in bios, just enabled them. And vcore changed? to 1.248

    put it up to 400fsb x 8 for 3200..

    [​IMG]
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,976 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Ha! Totally missed that in the first screenshot. Looks even better now.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,258 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    Put it under load and show me temps, I don't care about idle temps, they are meaningless.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    yeah youre right newtekie1.. coming right up.. not looking too good but ill wait for your opinions
     
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    [​IMG]
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,258 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    That 70°C worries me. My X3370 is at a higher clock, with higher voltages, and I only get up into the 55°C range. I didn't think the TRUE was that much better than the Xigmatek.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Its only been a half hour since i installed it. Do you think the cpu and ceramique needs to settle? Unsure about that..
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,258 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    I don't think Ceramique needs to cure, though I did just notice you are in Florida, so your ambient is likely higher than mine. My ambient is only 75°F right now.

    70°C isn't dangerous, but it is getting close to what I would consider the max(75°C is my personal max, I won't let a processor get hotter than that).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i was playing the batman demo and it sat around 50-52
     
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    When I installed the heatsink this is how I applied the AS ceramique.. can someone tell me if I did a botched job and if I should redo it?

    I cleaned the xigmatek and put tiny lines off tim on each copper surface, with a plastic baggie over my finger I spread it across the surface as thinly as I could. I do remember one side being slightly thinner than the other, maybe this is leading to 2 cores running hotter than the other 2?

    I cap about 55-58 on 2 cores and 59-64 and 64-70 on the other 2 at load

    these temps are for stock vcore, and 1650 fsb or 412.5 x 8.5 = 3505mhz 8 hours prime for blend test
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,258 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    I still use the single dot in the middle, even on the CPUs I know have multiple cores under the heat spreader. Seems to work pretty good for me, even on my Xigmatek coolers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I am in the process of getting that watercooling loop on FS/Trade forum.

    I think that'll be the best bet.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page