1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just installed pics - Gigabyte 7950 CF - AMD ZeroCore and Heaven Bench

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SteelSix, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    I thought about grabbing 7950 CF at product launch but held out. With the recent price cuts, I caved. Just got em running and wanted to share first impressions.

    Gigabyte went with a plastic shroud for the latest WindForce cooler. IMO, a shroud should be sturdy enough to hold the card by without flexing or bending; this proved to be the case as it's fairly thick plastic. The metal bracket used to stiffen the PCB looks good too. Nice job Gigabyte:
    [​IMG]

    Installed pic:
    [​IMG]


    AMD ZeroCore
    I run multi-gpu and surf nearly as much as I game; so I liked the idea of ZeroCore upon hearing about it. Does it work? Seems so.

    Here's GPU1 in idle:
    [​IMG]

    and GPU2 (notice GPU, memory, and temp numbers):
    [​IMG]

    Worth noting, ZeroCore will not engage with GPU-Z running. GPU2 will sit at 800 core and 1300 mem.

    Sure a Kill-A-Watt is not the most precise way to measure power consumption; but it's
    cheap and shows ZeroCore works. Here's system at idle just before ZeroCore engages:
    [​IMG]

    and after:
    [​IMG]


    Unigine Heaven 3.0
    Plenty of benchmarks already out there so I did a quick run of Heaven using 560ti 448 SLI @ 800 core and 7950CF @ 950 core. A mismatch, but all I had on hand. 560ti 448 SLI posts some respectable numbers though.

    560ti 448 SLI, no AA, 4x AF, tesslation disabled:
    [​IMG]

    560ti 448 SLI, 4x AA, 16x AF, extreme tesslation:
    [​IMG]


    7950 CF, no AA, 4x AF, tesslation disabled:
    [​IMG]

    7950 CF, 4x AA, 16x AF, extreme tesslation:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2012
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,773
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No third card? Asrock board? Whut CPU clocks, stock? lulz. 57W is pretty good.
  3. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    No third card yet. :)

    It's an ASRock Extreme 7 w/16GB quad channel and i7 3820 @ 4.2. I've been lazy and let the bios auto tune the OC/voltage but it seems to do very well. It does 1.24v @ 4.2 and 1.008v @ 1.2 during idle. Next bios setting is 4.4. I'll try that some time soon.

    Oh someone at AT caught this, CCC reports 20% fan speed on card 2. They're OFF though..
  4. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    how is the second card when under zerocore mode at 0 degrees celcius? Should it not be lower than ambient?
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    The temperature sensors shut down when in zerocore or ulps mode.
  6. jaredpace

    jaredpace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    165 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    I wanna see some overvolting! Memory OV too!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page