1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just purchased ATI 9550 AGP 256mb. Now what?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mobius, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. mobius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    these are the specs given by ATiTOOL:

    Chip Type: RV350
    Memory Size: 256mb
    Memory Bus Width: 128bit
    Active Pipelines: 4
    Default GPU Clock: 250.00 Mhz
    Default Mem Clock: 196.00 Mhz


    This is a "built by ATI" card, not a "powered by ATI" card....


    What can i do to this to get the most out of it without adding extra cooling?

    http://www.ati.com/products/radeon9550/index.html

    theres a link if anyone wants, theres pics there also... its a green PCB which i thought was weird since ATI is mostly red.
     
  2. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    You can't gain much when you're not using active cooling solutions (e.g. a heatsink-fan combination).. so is your card cooled with a fan or not? is yes, proceed with the overclocking using ATITool.. it should be able to hit a core of 400MHz+/-.. for the RAM.. a "standard" 9550 should have 5ns RAM chips which equates to a speed of around 200MHz.. you can try to get more using ATITool "Find Max Mem" feature..

    Read this thread before continuing any further.. http://forum.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=463&page=1&pp=10
     
  3. mobius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    With that, you can't really clock the GPU much... just use ATITool to overclock it until artifacts starts to appear.. then clock it at a stable speed.. since it's a "original" 9550 card, there must be some clock lock feature to prevent user to overclock it.. either use a set of hacked drivers (Omega, tPU! SoftMod, DNA, etc..), flash the BIOS, or use the clock lock removal option in ATITool before overclocking.. :D
     
  5. crow0021 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i never noticed the clock lock removal option in atitool..
     
  6. crow0021 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is this option in the beta version ??
     
  7. ReconCX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    401 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    no, i think it works.

    Man, ATi really went the cheap route with that card... guess they don't want you overclocking it. ;)
     
  8. mobius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i only bought it for a temp video card. i just RMA'd my 9700pro :)

    bestbuy will be recieving this back when i get my real video card back


    hahaha
     
  9. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Oh.. so you'll be trashing this card first before returning it eh? :D:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page