1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just set up Raid 0, a little help please

Discussion in 'Storage' started by ace80, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Just got my Asus P5Q3 Deluxe back up and running and am gonna reinstall XP and also Vista for dual boot. Using Drive xpert on the mobo i've already got 2 40gig drives setup in raid0 then a 250gig drive by itself.
    Now what would be the best way to utillize this setup? First time Raid user :eek:
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I would say split the 80gb raid 0 into 2 40's,one for system,one for documents.The 250 is for dump,games and whatever else.
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    you dont want the OS on the Drive Expert Raid Controller. if your gonna do raid, it need to be done via the Intel raid controller.

    The Drive Expert has too higher latency and it also says in the mobo's manual (at least it does for me) not to use the Drive Expert for an OS install.
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Shit yes,can you switch the two drives to the intel controller?
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Some bad news: 40 GB + 40 GB + 250 GB = 120 GB by RAID 0.

    Don't make the 250 GB drive part of the array.
     
  6. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Should be able to. Nothing is on the drives yet. So would it be best to ditch raid and put each os on the separate 40gig drives then as you said use the 250gig for a dump?
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I for one would use a 40 + 40 GB RAID array, with the 250GB left out, the 80 GB LB would boot Vista while XP sits on the 256GB drive.
     
  8. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Ok, so install vista on the 40GB raid then xp on the 250GB. I'd prob partition up the 250 with xp on 1 partition and documents, games etc on another.
    Oh and i guess i won't use drive xpert at all.
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,255 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    Yeah, i just have horrible feeling though. there old drives and when one goes down his save game OS and all POOF gone as it will only take one HDD to fail. Running a raid 1 be better at least he be able to recover his stuff if a drive did fail.
     
  10. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,846 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    I agree with Asrock on either No Raid or Raid 1 with those 40's. 40Gb's have come and gone sometime ago so age wise I wouldn't set them up in Raid 0. I'd say do what tigger recommended but I'm not sure what you are doing with XP and Vista. I would say put XP on one 40 and Vista on the other, then put your games, apps, doc, etc on the 250.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    RAID 1 is wastage of space :)

    You'd rather not have RAID at all, use them in IDE mode. Remember: In RAID 1, 40 GB + 40 GB = 40 GB.
     
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,255 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    Umm ok.. I guess it's a matter of opinion.
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,255 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    Umm ok.. I guess it's a matter of opinion. i'd rather not have raid ?.. Who told you that ?.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Mr. Commonsense told me. In this case RAID 1 won't give him any performance increase, it's just mirroring data for fault tolerance, he loses half his space (that's already low (40 GB)), no need for that.
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,255 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    Umm he needs over 20GB for each OS ?. could he not install his apps to his larger drive ?. I see what you mean and i do agree to some degree but for me the OS drive normally contains more files that i need to be safe than any other drive\partition. Like save games \ MP saves \ some apps settings that i just drop in saves me loads of time setting up. But thats just what i would do and not everyone thinks of this data as important enough.
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    But still, 0% performance gain, 50% loss in storage space. 20GB for an OS? Even with all apps installed on another drive, he'll run out on space pretty soon.
     
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,255 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    With Vista probably pending on what version he's using and if he uses system restore. Then again there's the compatability folder which people are seeing at large sizes too.
     
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Raid 1 isnt 0 performance gain. You get the same gain as Raid 0 for read speed, but no improvement in write speed. Though like you say, you still end up with only 40gb.
     
  19. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Hey Ace, it depends on the specific models you have. What brand and models are the 40s and the 250? My answer will depend a lot on that.

    If everything was equal and you wouldn't mind reinstalling your OSs in the event of a drive failure, I'd say RAID the 40s, partition them with Vista at the beginning of the array and then XP after that, installing programs closest to the beginning in order of their priority, and making sure to leave a few gigs free on each partition.

    Then, regularly back up anything you don't want to lose to the 250, and use that for file storage. But again, it depends on the models!
     
    drdaver says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page