1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just when you think MS is getting a little Smarter/Microsoft kills off autorun

Discussion in 'General Software' started by DaMulta, May 3, 2009.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13475&Itemid=1

    :banghead: I for one LIKE being able to just plug in a USB device and it works.....just like millions of other users.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Another reason to skip 7. I want a new OS that doesn't suck kthxbye.
     
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    so your still gonna use Vista?
    Delete a link pls:) they're the same
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    7 is just a retarded version of Vista. If MS got Vista right with the RC of the original we wouldn't be needing 7.
    They're just releasing it because they messed up with Vista the first time. SP1 with all the updates is FAST. I run Vista on a semperon + 1gb of ram and it's as fast as XP.
    Prebuilt OEM's just throw in so much bloatware and the original Vista was buggy and slow to begin with.
     
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    I sense some serious butthurt in this thread. Does autorun really matter that much?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2009
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I dont know, I dont really care much for Autorun, its not a deal breaker.
     
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I never really liked autorun, it tends to do things that I don't intend to do when I insert media.
     
    Black Hades and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  8. kyle2020 Guest

    Exactly. Its lazy people that will say "OMFG windows 7 is teh suckz0ard, no autorun wtf wtf wtf!!!!111!11!111!!!!!"

    Get over it, bloody hell, it takes me under a second to go into my computer, stop being daft.
     
  9. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I have a button on my keyboard that leads me right into my computer:)
     
  10. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    errmmmm... autorun does NOT affect that. autorun is a totally different thing, you'll still be able to plug in a USB device and have it just work. autorun is when there is an autorun.ini on a device that tells it to execute a certain program on the device. you'll still get the window that pops up with options of what to do when you insert media, it's a totally different thing.
     
  11. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    and inf
     
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,703 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    730
    Yeah because 7 is full of that. :banghead:
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  13. Duxx Guest

    +1 Why can't I thank your post? :confused:

    Edit: Took awhile to show up.
     
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Why would they disable autorun? Its already at a safe stage anyway, nothing can run as admin without UAC, and whenever I plug something in or stick in a disc it asks me what I want to do.

    I call BS on this article, its Fud after all.
     
  15. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    I don't mind the Autorun feautre because at least you can decide what you want to run. I do mind software that puts crap in the Autorun. Exemple: Quicktime.
     
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Duxx, holy hell that is some amazing download you got, who is your ISP.

    P.S. Sorry to hijack the thread on asking this :)

    P.P.S. I want to install windows, I just need to put my other HDD in and go that route.
     
  17. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,265 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    What about those that have UAC disabled?
     
  18. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,703 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    730
    UAC is fail. I hate it. So annoying.
     
  19. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    It makes me feel safe, but I don't know what coders get up to:p
     
  20. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,703 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    730
    UAC is pointless. Your just as safe turning it off as you were without having it on XP.
     
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Nice, one less feature I have to disable my self :) You'll never get autorun to be right with a USB memory filled with pictures, music and videos and other files. "Open Folder" option would work, unless you are readyboosting or going to boot of the stick.

    Better just do it manually, at least there'll be one less click in near future (having to close autorun dialog). Oh and I have My Computer always open, if only they'd fix it not refreshing drive space automatically :)
     
  22. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Yeah, But I always leave it on:p

    I think M$ should just have the option of opening the folder instead of letting us choose the programs.
     
  23. mknawabi New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I really don't understand how some are complaining about autorun being disabled. For USB drives, it will pop up a dialog asking you whether you want to view the folder or not. Is that seriously not good enough?

    For CDs however, microsoft stated that they would still allow the autorun function to be listed as an option in the dialog.

    Autorun is a pretty big security risk, and Microsoft is saving a lot of headaches from the IT crowd for this.
     
  24. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Wow, some people did NOT read my post about how AutoRun is NOT AutoPlay. AutoPlay is what you are referring to and it is here to stay.
     
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    AutoRun you set a program to run sutomticaly depending on the media type or file type

    so you say vlc to automatically play any mpeg videos


    autoplay is that the box that brings up a list of commands like view and a list of programs to run it on?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page