1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

K series Intel CPU worth it?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Laurijan, May 30, 2012.

  1. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,234 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Hi!

    I am quite sure I get an i7 3770 but can not decide if I buy a K model with its unlocked multiplier.

    Is it possible to OC as much as with a K model thru upping the bus frequency?

    I donĀ“t plan to OC the hell out of my CPU.

    Greetz!
    Lauri
  2. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Hi!

    The non K CPU is BCLK limited. The way Sandy and ivy bridge work, the BCLK control all USB, SATA, PCI-E, PCI, etc.. which has a default of 100mhz. If you go to high like 110, you can corrupt all data transfered, system crash, etc..

    This is why Sandy and ivy needs to be overclocked via multiplier. It's not like Nehalem or Sandy Bridge-E which work like the Nehalem, overclocking with the BCLK.


    If you won't plan a big overclock, you can keep max turbo frequency on a non K CPU, for the 4 cores..
    cool.dx.rip says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You can add +4 CPU bins(ie, 3.9 GHz Turbo does 4.3 GHz) to "locked" chips.
  4. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    This is something I didn't know for locked chip. Thanks for completing :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,234 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I am unsure what a CPU bin is? Do I get you right that with an locked CPU that has 3,9GHz turbo speed I still can get 4,3GHz?
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Bin= Multi.

    Just using Intel's own terminology.

    And yes, example here:

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  7. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,234 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    All CPUs except for "K" parts are "Limited Unlocked".

    i7 3770K = Unlocked

    i7 3770 = Limited Unlocked

    i7 3770S = Limited Unlocked
    Laurijan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page