1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kaspersky 2012 now out!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by qubit, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,675 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,075
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,260 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Ppl mostly prefer stuff like avast!, MSE, Panda Cloud etc...
     
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I might do this. I use Kapersky 2010 so an upgrade wouldn't be the worst idea. Especially if its free lol.

    Panda? I do not know a single person using Panda. And I know a lot of persons.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,412 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    London, UK
    i put it on my brother's machine a while ago, it has just undergone a UI update that is all i think
     
  5. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    889 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Latvia
    Its night, go to sleep. :D Anyway, maybe i will go back to KIS, wasnt bad after all.
     
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,675 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,075
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I'm gonna read those installation instructions and install it now. :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,675 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,075
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Ok, the only thing one was strongly recommended to do before installing 2012 was to uninstall the previous version while leaving the activation data. Mine went on without a hitch.

    Bo$$, yes, a cosmetic change is the main thing they've done to it. They've allegedly 'improved' stuff under the hood, but I wonder how much better it really is. I reckon this is really a point update dressed up as a whole new version to sell more. Whatever.

    Still, it does look better than 2011 and is quite nice. :)
     
  8. hhumas

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    554 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Islamabad
    I am moved from KAS to Eset its light and faster than it ... Maybe I move back
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,260 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Panda Cloud. Everything else is still rubbish if you ask me. Panda Cloud is pretty much a MSE that operates exclusively using cloud technology (with some important local signatures and engine when you are offline).
     
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,024 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,716
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thanks, been using Kas for years. Seamless and I never know its there. Use to pay big bucks for it. Like $65 for 3 installs. But the last couple of years Ive gotten it on the cheep from Amazon like $14
     
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,675 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,075
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yeah, it's unbelievably good value if you know where to look. :D
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,260 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I've had 0 EUR cost for my protection with avast! in over 5 years period :p
     
    Goodman, W1zzard and hhumas say thanks.
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,650 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    i have been using KIS since it got compatible with Windows 7 and i still use it and i don't want anything else, it a bit more than i actually needs but still i enjoy having something a little bit over protected but it have helped my dad, mum and sis alot bcs both my mum and sis r like always clicking yes on things and with KIS no choice it does it for u xD and with my dad he is like oh, oki, nice to be protected ^^
     
  14. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    269 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Belgium
    I wonder if it now properly works with the cisco anyconnect client.
     
  15. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    I used KIS once, but it was horrible.
    It slowed the internet connection somehow.
    And then, I found it was uploading/downloading something every second it was running. Nearly 5GB everyday... Dunno where.
    Now Im happy with MSE
     
  16. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,412 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    London, UK
    Pffft, i think it is becoming less functional and more 'clever looking' to get those sort of computer illiterate people to buy it as it looks cool. I personally think it is slightly slower and more gimmicky than the older versions.... They may say they have improved thing but what is the point if we cannot see the benefits, they really need to make 2013 a MUCH lighter version to get me to renew with them again

    I think that Kaspersky is slowly moving towards a sort of Norton/Macafee look/Performance, Eset may just win me over this time

    Can anyone link me to KAV 2011 please?
     
  17. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    534
    Location:
    California
    Tooo expensive...
     
  18. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ty bud, love me some KAS
     
  19. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,816 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Actually, KIS 2012 has been out for over a month, I installed it June 7.
     
  20. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Same here i never payed for an Anti-Virus always use the free ones & Avast been my A-V of choice for many years...

    Side note i also use the free version of SuperAntiSpyware for the last 2 1/2 years very happy with both of these software
     
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,675 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,075
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You can never have "too much" protection when it comes to security. ;)


    KIS may not be your favourite, but it's definitely not 'horrble'. What version were you running and how long ago? They've made a lot of improvements over the years.

    If you're getting a mystery 5 gig download every day then it sounds like you have an infection on your PC. No way does Kaspersky ever do this.

    I tried MSE once and it has the most retarded a/v update system I've ever seen - it's fucking manual! :shadedshu Because it's connected to Windows Update, if you don't set it to install your updates automatically, then MSE asks you to install every single a/v update. This is totally retarded, as a/v updates showed load silently in the background, like they do with every other security software out there. This annoyance alone rules it out. What was Microsoft thinking? :slap:


    While 2012 seems more of a point release over 2011 than a full version, it's certainly not dumbed down. Just look round it's settings and you can see how fully featured and flexible it is. In fact, it's got the most features of all of them, as far as I can see. The latest Norton is really dumbed down though, with only very basic options available.


    Not if you buy it from places like Amazon and other online retailers. Do a little research before posting misinformation.


    Yeah, it has. It's annoying how the application doesn't alert you to new versions. It's such a no-brainer to implement, that you wonder why they don't do it. :rolleyes:
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,260 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The reason why i hate Kaspersky. Signatures and program itself has to be up to date. While most companies already made a fully transaprent signmature and program updater, Kaspersky is still stubbornly insisting on crappy manual program updating.
     
  23. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    534
    Location:
    California
    So I'm supposed to look for "sale" prices and ignore the official price from an official website?

    R u serious?
     
  24. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,639 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,753
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus - All Versions

    Just got KIS 2012 for $19.99USD on amazon. If I remember correctly, Newegg had it for free after the rebate just a week or two ago. Official Kasperky Labs Rebates> The following offers are available for pre-registration

    ONCE!? Just like, I used Norton once, and did not like it. It was a resource hog and crashed the os often, oh well, things change... I still don't use it, but have heard from those that do it is better now.

    And, I agree with qubit... if it was uploading/downloading something every second it was running; then, you, either, had something else going on or a bit of malware was playing with you.

    IMO, I want my defs and program to be up to date.
    You don't have to manual update... set it to schedule an update or you can have it do the default auto update. At least mine did, both, the defs and the program.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
    qubit says thanks.
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,260 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,700
    My version updates itself.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page