1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kaspersky Antivirus/KIS 2010 released (version 9.0)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Mussels, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    Just a heads up, kaspersky has quietly updated and released their latest version of the antivirus.

    http://www.kaspersky.com/kis_latest_versions

    Tons of new features are out such as:

    System requirements are nothing special
    Oh and older KAV/KIS 2009 keys work just fine :) - so that means YES, you can update over the top of an existing install, or buy a 2009 key off ebay and it still works.
    P.S: dont buy from kaspersky, buy from ebay - its usually far less than 1/2 price there.


    Edit: i just checked out game mode: heres a screenshot for you (this is NOT enabled by default)

    [​IMG]

    Vulnerability scanner is great - i've disabled autorun from network drives, flash drives, hard drives and portable media drives through this handy tool.
    [​IMG]

    It also gives you a list of all programs on your PC with know security flaws - such as telling me my winamp is outdated.
    [​IMG]


    Update:

    To users of KIS 2009 who want to activate Via the KEY file, you can install in trial mode and use it later. Its only during the initial install that it wont let you use a key file.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2009
  2. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Dammit ive only had 09 for a few months now the have released 10 damn.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    your key works on 10 :)

    edit: updates, pics.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  4. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Sweet looks like some useful improvements there thanks for the info mate.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  5. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    I don't know about everyone else but in my case I noticed an increase in page load speed while browsing the internet compared to version 8. Maybe KAV didn't like Opera or it was simply slowing down my browsing.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    havent tested it much here, i know they have a new firefox plugin and that it uses a bit less ram (12MB here)
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  7. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    All I know was that some pages would "hang" for a few seconds before fully loading (100%). Now it's all smooth and nice and... hmm... yeah... :D
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    i laughed when i saw the new 'sandbox' mode (sounds like a virtual PC for unsafe apps) - it has some nice default applications in there.


    Hmm, whats the most unsafe application i can think of...
    [​IMG]
    oh yeah, IE :D (the second is IE x64)
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  9. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Interface looks abit better than 09 the only thing i didnt really like.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
    odameyer says thanks.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    what, no one but aussies care abotu this awesome antivirus? :(


    It also seems to load/run a bit faster, the delay as it scanned new programs seems reduced a large amount.

    edit:

    and heres a good argument as to why kaspersky is the best antivirus: while it has them, it doesnt rely on shitty, inaccurate heuristics to find viruses. they do it properly.

    [​IMG]

    Yeah, 2,200 viruses added to the list in the last 24 hours. find me another antivirus that good.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  11. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Just bought a new KIS 2009 yesterday, so I could just upgrade to 2010?

    Guessing the 2010 is pretty new, saw it on the page and was like "when did this get released, haven't seen it mentioned anywhere".

    Special Game Mode to suspend alerts, updates and scans while you play New!

    2009 already suspends updates with high processor load, but guess that's improved? Have no complaint with 09, but seems kinda tempting. I have disabled HTTP traffic scanning, doesn't work with pages like youtube, guessing that's the hang mentioned here and if that's improved it would be almost worth the upgrade alone.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    i say it in the first post, your keys work. just run the installer, reboot when asked and you'll be up to date.
     
    odameyer and OnBoard say thanks.
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, read it, but wasn't sure if it ment just a fresh not yet activated key :)

    Oh and please post more use experience. If someone could also test youtube with http scanning on, does videos load in under a minute, or do they take forever to load.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  14. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    thanks Mussels! now I have to update my KIS :toast:
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,336 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    is the system faster as a whole with this than the 2009 ver?
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    that would be related to your ISP more than anything... no one can test that for you.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,336 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    or the speed of your PC, but your pc seems very fast
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    i missed part of your post :p

    The main new feature there is that it stops the updates and scheduled scans. nothing more annoying than timing out in ping because an update started, or lagging out because its scanning your games folder for viruses at your scheduled 2am scan.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    If you click that checkmark on, youtube will crawl. without it flies.
    [​IMG]

    Well haven't had it on for a while, but yes they can test it. Shouldn't have anything to do with ISP or connection speed. My minute mention was just to give an idea. It took forever to even get the main page open when I first tried Kaspersky with that setting on.

    I don't have scheduled scans on and update is 10am every morning :) So seems I don't need that feature, but good that they added one, will be helpful for many.
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    well, i cant test it. that option isnt there anymore.

    just update, and see for yourself.
     
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    OK :toast: I'll stick to 2009 for the time being, have to give the new version a go someday :)
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    why wouldnt you update? there is no risk, if it still lags youtube just uninstall it. if it doesnt lag, you get the security back.
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,182 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    nice , im wait for internet scurity
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,629 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    thats updated too. i abbreviated it to KIS - all my screenshots are from the kaspersky internet security suite.
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  25. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I don't like updating just for the fun of it. There needs to be something in the new version that I want. If it's working, don't fix it (unless you get bored) :p

    Not going to jump on Windows 7 when it comes and will be keeping my 5.531 Winamp (apr 1 2008). Would be even older, but it kept nagging about updates, finally found the setting to disable it :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page