1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Keep 4870 at OC speeds or leave at stock?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by CDdude55, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just starting OCing my 4870 a bit and was wondering if it was worth it to keep it at these OCed speeds or go back to stock. Keep in mind this is with the stock 4870 heatsink. So i don't think i can OC it a lot to the point where it won't get to hot.

    heres the current speeds.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    What are your temperatures like (idle/load)?

    If that is your max OC, I don't think you are going to notice much of a difference in gaming performance IMO.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    NOt trying to jack the thread... but im similar to you.

    I just got my XFX 4870 and im messing with clocks. Im using CCC but it's max is 790MHz... Is there a way to unlock that, or whats the best tool?
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I manually set the fan speeds, so there decent.

    Idle is about 48c-49-c, haven't checked the load temps but i ramp the fan speed up when gaming so i think im ok.
     
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Have you tried the TPU GPUTool? If you want to edit your BIOS, you could use TPU Radeon BIOS Editor (RBE) and then ATi WinFlash to flash it.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Mines is also the same, the slider can only get you to 790mhz and mem clock only goes to 1100mhz.
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    That is what I keep both my 4870's at 24/7. Running 70% fan speed on both all the time though. Idle is 52C
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Ok, WTF!!!!

    I'm using the 'Find Max' on this GPU Tool. So far my 4870 is on 955MHz Core... no artifacts... and temp is less than 40c...!!!

    Tell me something is wrong!

    Edit, this doesn't make sense...

    I stopped it at 1000MHz core. Now, i know it shouldn't be able to pull that... GPUz reads it as 1000MHz Core, but Furmark reads it as stock. Oddly enough... it's stable.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/ez48h/
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    GPUTool is just a "technology preview", not a bug-free release. I had issues with the Find-max button: I hit it by accident, stopped it a few seconds later, and it kept raising my core frequency at 5MHz intervals even though I cancelled the test.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    GPU Tool or Riva tuner or ATI Winflash. Just Google how to overclock a 4870 past 790MHZ. There is a tone of info out there on that.

    And to the owner of this post: II would use a different Utility if the one you are using isn't working in your favor. Something doesn't sound right at those speed and that low of temps. It sounds like something is not registering correctly. Go to Guru3d and look for other Utilities. Also Look up what others have done to get they're overclock higher. I do not own a 4870 but I do own a 4850 I never Overclocked my 4850 past stock CCC speeds. But I have read about people getting their 4870 up to and past 4890 speed with a voltage increase and some luck! So good luck bud.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page