1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Keep getting BSOD, Bad HDD?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BrooksyX, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Okay I am pretty sure my HDD is bad but I am not 100%. :banghead:

    I can install windows xp, all the drivers and my files just fine. I can turn the computer on and off a few times too. But a few hours after I install windows ill turn on my computer and just get a blue screen of death. I usually get a blue screen saying "kernel stack inpage error" and then my computer will just restart and do the same thing over.

    Now this has happened like five times now, I keep on installing xp and it keeps on crashing.
    I ran seagate tools to test my hdd and it says it passes so I don't know what is up with my computer.

    What do you guys think.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    well, i see that you have two different hdd's... any chance of trying it with the other one and seeing if it is your hdd??
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Yeah I was going to try that, but right now that HDD is in another computer being used as the primary drive. I wanted your guys opinion before I pulled it out.
     
  4. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Try installing a different OS on it, see what happens: CDs do get corrupt if stored imporperly.
    You can easily download and install a small linux distro, assuming you have a second PC and a CD burner.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Have you tried checking your ram with Memtest? I might be the fact that the ram is so dang hot that your having issues. That can lead to the fact that when you try and get xp to open up it will just bsod.
    Then I'd try the hdd and see if thats the problem..
    If not on both, I believe its the mobo itself.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,579 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    I would have to say that if your HDD passed the Seatools long version of the HDD test with no errors...it isnt the HDD!
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  7. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    i had a problem like this awhile back, turned out being my secondary hd.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  8. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Your right there, if that test with no errors, then you can say no on the hdd.

    and if you don't have Seatools there it is
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  10. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Okay ill pull out the 160gb hdd and try it in my pc.

    edit: windows xp is now installing on my 160gb hdd. Ill get back to you guys when all the drivers and other files are installed.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
  11. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Uh try installing xp on both hdds. Then take out either one off the hd and boot on the hd that is left. If you get the BSOD again swap it with the one you just booted with and insert the one you took out. If this solves your problem then its ur hard drive.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    IM sorry to say Brooksyx, but it could be pretty much anything in your system. Did you check your rails off the psu? Ran memtest? Tried video card in a different machine?
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  13. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Oh yea its pretty much the psu. A 3850 and a 5000+ black edition can take some wattage and amperage.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  14. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Had the same problem awhile back. Kicked my ass till I figured it out :banghead:
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  15. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    check to see that your busses arnt overclocked, like PCI/PCIe etc
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  16. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Okay guys I am 99.9% sure that my 250gb hdd is bad. Ive been running on the 160gb for the last 18+ hours with no problems at all. I bought the 250gb seagate from a local PC shop, so I reread my receipt for the HDD this morning and it sounds like they replace everything within a year, before I thought they just replace within 15 days but I think thats for getting your money back. So Ill give them a call tomorrow and hopefully they will tell me I can get a new one because I really don't want to rma it to seagate.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
  17. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Before taking It back.....try to run It by Itself In your rig....If It runs fine then It may be your PSU thats letting you down.

    Hope It helps. :)
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  18. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Good chance a HDD error would show up in the "Event Viewer" > Error logs > System. The PSU being a problem would not.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  19. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I just ended up taking the HDD back. They were out of the seagates so I got a 250 gb Western Digital hdd as a replacement. I also bought a second one so I can mess around with a raid setup when I get some time.

    Anyways, thanks for all the help everyone!
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2008
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Glad to see that you got it fixed! and now doing raid!?!? lol thats the way to go man!
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,596 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,514
    Id say the Ram is goin bad.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page