1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Keep my E8600 @4ghz or get a AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by rampage, May 11, 2010.

  1. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    as the tital says, should i keep my E8600 4ghz (on air) or get a AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition..

    im just after your thoughts.

    also note i will be pairing it up with a xfx 5870

    edit* this is for a gaming
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,877 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    For gaming I would stick with what you have.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Indiana
    no game that I know of s going to make use of the extra two cores, so for gaming, I would say keep your current...

    from a cool/future-proof standpoint, I would get the 1090t.
     
  4. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    couldnt you then dedicated 2-4 cores depending on the game on solely the game though then, and 2 cores for extra background stuff like vent,steam, internet browser, music player, which would make you have 2-4 dedicated cores insstead of 2 for everything
     
  5. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I think it depends on what games you're playing. Most new games will use the extra cores but maybe not all 6 available cores. If you can get the x6 to 3.8 your first 2 cores will already be faster then your current CPU and you'll have heaps of processing power left to spare. Current AMD CPUs and mobos will run dual 5870s better than previous Intel based boards (p45, x38, x48) and you'll generally have a better system.

    If you have the money.. it's a no brainier but if you're deciding between eating for a few weeks or buying the x6... well then I think you need a reality check.

    Will it be faster... yes.
     
  6. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,258 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's going to take a lot of money to buy a new board, cpu, and memory. Will it be faster? In single threaded apps, maybe. In multithreaded apps, definately. Will you notice a difference? In single threaded apps, probably not. In multithread apps, definately.

    Do you use a ton of multithreaded apps that would enjoy a great deal of benefit from this? If yes, it might be worth it. If not, not worth it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    im not to fussed about the $$$, its mostly newer games bad company 2 mostly and a bit of the new AvP , dirt 2 (dx11 stuff)

    im aware that the E8600 will run the games fine, i was more wondering how DX11 is able to use multi cores a bit better

    with the turbo boost and software i was under the impression i could set say 3 cores to the 4ghz area and lower the other 3 cores to 1 ghz, or somthing like that and over all give better gaming, but that being said as before its only iff the apps are multi threaded, but i thought DX11 helped sort that out
     
  8. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    True native DX11 games should be mulithreaded but many DX11 games are just DX11 layers on DX9 engines. If you like Bad Company 2 and plan to play it often then you will see a big performance increase in that game. It actually uses 80% of all 4 cores in my system. It's not just DX11 games that use more than 2 thread however. Left 4 Dead also uses all 4 cores and I was surprised how much smoother it ran with my current CPU vs my "old" E8400 @ 4Ghz. GTAIV pretty much requires a quad to get the best experience.
     
  9. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    after a bit of common sence, ill hold onto the E8600 for now, and just enjoy the boost from a GTX280 to a 5870 for now and when thats not enough ill go up to a bigger cpu

    thanks for all the input
     
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,605 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I was gonna say, If its a gaming machine, more money spent on the GPU, say a 5870 or GTX 480 might be better spent than a new CPU.
     
  11. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    If i were you i would keep it the way it is , just add a good graphic card like the 5870 & change your CPU for a quadcore Intel & keep this PC for about ~1 /12 to 2 years it would give you time to save more money to get a all new rig by then
     
  12. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,656 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    You took the title thread right out of my mouth :laugh:. I was planning to upgrade my cpu and mobo this summer as I got a 480 last week and I was thinking about the new phenoms; it's just for gaming so instead of a Thuban I was hoping for Zosma, unfortunately this cpu has been cancelled. But anyway I found out that my E8400 is enough for Fermi even at 3.0ghz if I crank up the AA. :D
     
  13. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    The E8600 is one beast of a Core 2 Duo. One of the best in the line.It can still handle most games. And only now games are taking use of the quad cores. So it will be some time when 75% of the games support quad and at least 20% support 6 core. So if you do other stuff like video converting, encoding etc, get the 6 Core or else stick to the E8600. ;)
     
  14. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    thanks guys/ girls, as said avove im keeping a hold of the E8600 for now i just have to wait on the 5870 to arrive, who here has a time machine, can you make the next week or two go faster?
     
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    i've still got my E8600 at 4ghz/1.2vcore,and it still serves me very well.
     
  16. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    after all that its changing, i have a buyer for my intel set up (in specs) and oh btw the e8600 is doing 4.33ghz on air with 1.285v (cpuz) and 50c load ( im sad to see it go) but this going gives me the extra $$$ so im looking at getting the

    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition
    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=187_345&products_id=14169
    Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 Motherboard
    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=138_803&products_id=14212
    G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH (2x2GB) DDR3
    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=186_538_913&products_id=12494

    thoughts ?

    (oh and dont forget the the 5870 thats coming :p)
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,377 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,701
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I think you'll be very happy. CPU-wise, daily you won't notice much difference, but you SHOULD be able to get 4.2ghz outta the 1090T, and performance is very similar at similar clocks to Core2.
     
  18. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    how dose the turbo boost actualy work with these new cpu's i understand the idear of idle, then load on all cores if its a multi therad app running and then if if its 3 or less cores turbo boost kicks in

    but with OCing can i set up somthing like the following , 800mhz idle (i think its default) say 2 ghz load and then the 4ghz witht the turbo boost on the 3 cores ? (ive got a intel brain and i cant work it out)
     
  19. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Yes. You can set the multiplier for turbo however much you want, there are limits but what you're looking to do will work.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,377 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,701
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    All of these cpus actually use far less power than they are rated for. Depending on workload, turbo will increase the frequency of some of the cores, while keeping within the max rated power consumption(125w).


    The max multi available is noted by the last number in the product's name..0=a 4x multi boost, and 5=a 5x multi boost. So the max you'll get on 3.2ghz cpus is 3.6ghz. Not too sure about unlocked BE cpus though...
     
  21. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I will have to say no. Final answer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page