1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Keyboard Lag when ATItool Running

Discussion in 'ATITool Bug Reports' started by Nazzrath, Feb 12, 2006.

  1. Nazzrath New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm running ATItool .25 beta 12 with a sapphire x1800 XL. When it's running 585/585 timings I get keyboard lag when playing games such as World of Warcraft, Battlefield 2, and Dungeons & Dragons beta. For example, I'll be playing with no problems, then every so often, say when I'm moving forward then try to turn, I'll still be moving forward for about 1 second before it will respond to my turn command. It'll keep lagging for about 4-5 seconds then fix itself again. That probably occurs about every 5 minutes.
     
  2. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Yeah I get this as well. The only way I have found to stop it is to load ATI tool at start up load the profile I want then let close down again. After doing this I have no problems at all. I did however notice the problem seemed to get worse when I installed my Logi G5 mouse. I will try the new version to see if it is still a problem.

    Poo
     
  3. CrunchTime New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I get this same problem... Ahh!

    Some people said to disable the fan controll - so I did, but I get the problem still.

    I don't want to unload ATITool because I dont want it running at my 3dclocks in 2d mode
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2006
  4. McDee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    43 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Same thing here, I get keyboard lag in BF2. I just installed .25 beta lastnight and it was fine untill I tried to play BF2 today. I was running .24 for AGES before with no problems.

    I'll try to load the profile and shut it down and see what that does, but I'd prefer to keep ATItool running so I can monitor temps, change gamma etc etc.
     
  5. semjonov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can also confirm that there is an issue with the fan controll, you need to set it to a fixed value (Or disable it.) to avoid the imput lag.

    For my x1900xt:
    I use one profile for regular work with 500/600 speed and fan at 35%, about 50-55 degrees.
    Then I use a second profile for games, right now I am testing it out but 55% at normal 3d speed seems to work allright, get around 65-75 degrees with that.
     
  6. McDee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    43 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I ended up switching back to .24 and all is good again.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Here is a quick fix. Open your game, then alt-tab back to windows open up task manager(Or have it open before game), go to processes right click on your program and set priority level to below normal/
     
  8. Drewster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I use to have this problem a while ago, If I remember correctly, I disabled the temp monitoring and my problem was solved, it was either that or the fan control.
     
  9. 13thGh0st New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This may help.

    Email sent to Logitech this morning: "First Off Apologies - I have found the fault and it WAS NOT Logitech Setpoint Drivers. Its was in fact a Utility which produces a "flip 3D" effect in XP named "Topdesk". Google does not produce this solution so my next step will be post up on forums i can find for keyboard lag. I noticed this is happening more and more and i think with the introduction of vista and its nice effects people are looking towards bolt ons for xp that do the same, as i have done - as it awaits in the system tray to render 3d effect it causing the fault, it needs terminating or reinstalling. Thanks for your help along the way, sorry i drew the wrong conclusion - just the way it appeared and the timing of installed apps strongly pointed to Setpoint Driver. "

    Suggest you look for any similar apps in sys tray if not using topdesk. Kill everything you dont need, if it fixes the problem you know the culprit is in the startup/system tray.

    13thGh0st
     
  10. cerdo fuego New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    13thGh0st,
    thnx verry much.
    I've had the keyboard lag problem for a verry long time.
    Then i read your story about topdesk and shut the program down and my lag was gone.
    you're great.

    thanks again
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page