1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

KieX's 1m² crunching farm

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Nov 23, 2010.

?

How should I upgrade my farm?

Poll closed Dec 13, 2010.
  1. Build an SR-2

    3 vote(s)
    15.8%
  2. Upgrade both i7 quads to hex

    12 vote(s)
    63.2%
  3. Get another i7 quad

    2 vote(s)
    10.5%
  4. Other

    2 vote(s)
    10.5%
  1. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have a tiny room with only enough space for 2 or 3 computer towers max (Have 3 ATM). Heat builds up with no airflow in room. But I have the funds and want to maximise my WCG and F@H output.

    Please give me your opinion/advice. Thanks for reading/voting.


    Update: So you seem what I mean by 1m² space to work with you can see the space I'm talking about here:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,308 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    undervolting CPU and other components may help to reduce heat, or/and leave a small fan by the door
     
    KieX says thanks.
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you do know what subforum this is right?
     
  4. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    On the crunching side I'm upgrading to i7 hex's myself... I watch my numbers everyday and noticed my productivity really wasn't where i wanted it.
    You might check going Matx to save some space.
    As far as folding i feel ya on the heat problem. I'm folding on 7 cards and have to split my farm up. Some in the living room and some in the bedroom.(Don't know if this is an option for you?)... I'm also working on upgrading cards so i'm running all 460's too. You don't need the 1G cards due to card memory plays no part in folding or ppd's! Hopes this helps!
     
    KieX says thanks.
  5. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    They're already running on 3.8GHz with as little as 1.23v and use a big fan blowing out the window. But what I'm really after is increasing the output within the small confines.

    Wish I could use other parts of the house, but no chance, not really my house (only room is mine). Yeah I'm folding on 768MB Cyclone 460's too and planning to get the Zalman aftermarket cooler for the 480.

    mATX may be something to look into.. managed to fit one inside a NZXT Vulcan with decent temps. Cheers :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Wise move would be to upgrade to hex core's I believe :)
     
    KieX says thanks.
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if he does go with 2 hexs then he might as well go with sr2 board,
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  8. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Not so straight forward really. 2 hex is still cheaper than 2 hex + sr2 ;) Not to mention I would have to have it would take up easily the space of my 2 cases atm.
     
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Ahhh true, that would make more sense, shame it had to be pointed out to me :laugh:
     
  10. twilyth Guest

    Yup.

    Sell the quads to defray costs. Use memory in new rig.

    That's a lot cash to spend on rigs though, especially if you're going to get 2 hex cores. It's great for the team but personally, I still feel guilty about getting a 950 that I didn't really need. I'm not criticizing btw. Just trying to provide a different perspective is all. :toast:
     
  11. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    That's part of the fun i think... I only use one rig daily and the others just sit being monitored. Getting a good proc is kind of a win win anyways. Less maintance and easier oc's. I justify my costs by the amount of help for the research i'm doing! By all means stay within a budget though there is no reason to be eating romen noodle soup for this. Even a duo core puts out work for research!
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  12. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    This time last year when I started I was unemployed and spent the crappy money I had on a quad for crunching. This year I have a payrise and giving it what I can. Who know's my fortunes can change so I believe in doing what you can when you can.

    Yeah selling the quads would be part of the upgrade for any hex stuff. My biggest nightmare would be selling Silverstone FT02's.. they're quite expensive in shipping and difficult to sell :(
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  13. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    Kiex,

    I'd invest in a fan similar to this model.

    I'm not going to lie, these fans produce great airflow in a room, and keep it nice and chilly. Set it to oscillate and you're golden.
     
  14. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Kiex, can i just ask if you have seriously low cost electricity? Or are these at a company?
     
  15. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,440 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    build shelves in the room to house more mATX rigs, when out of space... build UP!!!
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Kiex, I would advise on you buying a 19" rack e.g. rittal, new or secondhand. Get some secondhand rack server cases, transfer your CPUs to the racks. It will be much easier to manage thermally, as well as physically. If your room has a door, a small vent at the top and bottom will also help "chimney" heat out of the small room.
     
    KieX says thanks.
  17. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Are they better than the traditional fan on a stick kind? Would be a cheap solution to try

    Naa, I wish. It's currently about £110 a month for my farm alone. Although I'm in a position where that isn't an issue (thankfully)
     
  18. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    He bypassed the mains... ;)
     
  19. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK

    Ah ok. Was wondering if you getting free (or cheap-as-chip) power, i would make a deal with you ;). Nevermind though.
     
  20. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    KieX says thanks.
  21. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    They are significantly better because the fan is larger and covers more area than a normal stick fan. Stick fans have the fan sit on top, while this fan covers the entire vented area.
     
    KieX says thanks.
  22. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,440 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    HAHA..thats my situation MoonPig. Where Im living the electric/heat/water is incl in my rent (which in itself isnt very much). if i had more $$$ i would slowly build my farm from 2 comps to at LEAST 4 comps, Hence the TPU B/S/T spending spree at Xmas :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    have you ever had one ?

    ive had 2 of them now, exsact model

    crappy airflow, you do NOT wanna use something bigger than a dualcore in that case, it gets SO hot, trust me

    theres only a 80mm in the front and 2 60mm in the back, really really bad for i7s and cpus that produce heat, + it cant really fit any cpu coolers,

    do not go that route, it will be a waste of money
     
    garyinhere says thanks.
  24. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    No i'm shopping for htpc's thanks for the heads up!
     
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I can cope with the bill, kinda. I changed some bulbs to 9w ones and it's actally countered the usage! lol. But, i need somewhere in my house where i can leave this comp. Want it running 24/7 and it's too loud when people are in my room, just looks weird... haha.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page