1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Killer Network Interface Card for Gamers

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 14, 2006.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG]

    Bigfoot Networks has announced its revolutionary network interface card, Killer. Killer is the world’s first NIC designed to speed up and improve the performance of online games by giving gamers lower Pings and more Frames Per Second in their online games. It has 32bit 400MHz integrated network processor with 64MB of PC-2100 DDR memory. The Killer NIC benefits from MaxFPS technogoly by lowering CPU utilization for networking, which gives more FPS to your game than standart NICs. Ultimate Ping and PingThrottle allow users to turn up and down their ping dynamically, without impacting CPU performance. GameFirst Technology prioritizes network packets for games instead of other network activity on the system. All this technologies will give hardcore gamers the ultimate online gaming performance. The Killer NIC will be available starting on August 16th with no mention of pricing. Click here if you want to learn more.

    Source: DailyTech
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Forget about PPU, we need THIS :D.
     
  3. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    I wonder how much it's going to cost. I have a feeling it's not going to be worth it though
     
  4. oldschool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This product ranks right up there with the beverage Jolt or the other caffeine laced Lamer beverages... The sheep will be lined up to purchase this card until they find out they are unable to use it because the latest SLI/Crossfire mobos don't have enough PCI slots to use this card with proper two-slot Vid card cooling. Gee, who wouldda thunk???

    Duh !
     
  5. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Meh... I'll pass.
     
  6. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    Looks like a nic with a pointless heatsink to me. Plus some bells and whistles.
     
  7. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Lies! A much better solution would be to get a router with prioritization like the DGL-4300. After getting that router lag isn't even a word anymore unless it's the server.
     
  8. chronic9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    y r there 2 input ports on the nic?

    whats hte point of that huge HS on it, u'll never see its design anyways, unless ppl. keep a mirror on the bottom of their case......

    i bet, theyll make a fata1ty edition soo too....... itll b all red with built on LEDs. rofl
    iam amazed no other company is sponsoring a "pro gamer"
     
  9. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I still have 2 out of 3 PCI slots left open even with waterblocks on my cards. The older boards will suffer, but almost all newer boards have much better spacing/layout of the PCI slots.
     
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    Yes but it looks SO SO pretty:laugh:
     
  11. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,640 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    besides it being pretty pointless...why not make it PCIe x1??
     
  12. sinner33 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    195 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada,Ontario,Markham
    This thing sure looks nice. I wouldn't mind having one like everyone else :)
     
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    My latency to my router is under 1 millisecond, from my router to whatever host has nothing to do with my NIC. How could this NIC make my latency lower? As for CPU load, I don't think my Intel NIC gives me a huge load or anything...
     
  14. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    794 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Well my question is what does it matter? unless your playing on overseas servers with friends I doubt it'll make a big difference. Most people join servers in their region anyway. I never ping in USEAST over 30 anymore and I just have standard Cable. This will have to be cheap to sell at all.
     
  15. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    its pointless this thing like dan pointed out the load of the most onboard nics is under 1%

    and the ping depends apart from lan on your dsl/cable speed


    But on Lan it may helps you a bit^^
     
  16. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    The only way it will sell is if its under $30.
     
  17. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Well, I use an ASUS A8N-SLI board, & it has:

    A.)
    2 x16 PCI-e SLI vidcard slots (& the 2nd can function up to PCI x4 when NOT in "SLI" - this is going to house a DDRDrive 4gb DDR PCI-e Solid-State drive when it releases)

    B.) 1 x4 PCI-e slot (used by a Promise Caching HDD Controller 128mb ECC RAM & Intel SuperI/O chip-brain for it)

    C.) 1 PCI-e x1 slot (this you have a point on oldschool) which my GeForce 7900GTX "covers it up" via its 2-slot heatsink/phase-change cooling system..

    :(


    Though that NIC does SOUND GOOD (it would be great @ a LAN party, but online via the public internet? Not sure, because of potentials in internet "inclement weather conditions" like pings, congestion, server slownesses (they do happen))...

    BUT, I don't think I could "Fit that in" (literally) w/ out giving up wanting to do the DDRDrive, & I won't do that...

    See photo, see what I mean, & probably around same lines as what oldschool is stating what will happen (mine is an "Extreme case" imo, some 'off-the-wall/non-std' stuff is in it already eating up PCI-e slots though):

    [​IMG]

    (I can't do this: Not if I want to do that DDRDrive x1 PCI-e/DDR1 unit! Mainly, so I can put the CENATEK "RocketDrive" SSD I have in the bottom of the case pictured, back into the system it came from here (2nd rig P4 3.2ghz, GeForce 6800 GT OC, WD Raptor 36gb 10k rpm disk))

    APK

    P.S.=> Great idea, for LAN parties & local home LAN use imo, more than anything else... but, you never know!

    Some folks will buy these I am sure, & let us know "What's-what"... apk
     
  18. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    maybe kick out of your case the s-ata controller and use the onboard one? i huess its not faster/slower this way
     
  19. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    No, that ABSOLUTELY stays

    I dunno, read on as to some results I had here with it in tests I ran vs. others here (INSTG8R & his "perpendicular recording technology" Seagate drive, where I won 2/3 tests (seek/access & CPU use, he won reads (big margin win too imo, that new tech is good too))):

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=13650

    (My CENATEK "RocketDrive" was included in that test too, interesting comparing ALL 3 types of tech imo!)

    Besides, time to get "back-on-track"/to subject @ hand:

    There is a reason I use this RAID Caching Controller:

    It's not your ordinary RAID controller is why (like onboard ones): It's different in that it has its own 128mb ECC Ram cache (in chips onboard) & managed by its OWN "cpu" for disk I/O (offloading the system CPU as well, bonus, for things disk I/O oriented)...

    In a test I did here in the URL above, it way exceeded even the SATA bus speed of 150mb/sec on benchmark HDD Tach here!

    Admittedly, I don't KNOW if this is "typical results" or not, on std. onboard RAID controllers, but imo, it is not (since it exceeded the bus speed ceiling & scored around 169mb/sec iirc, & used an amazing 0% cpu in doing so - bursting from its caches no doubt over a PCI-e x4 bus)!

    :)

    * No man... it stays!

    (Damn good part imo @ least, & given the results - big fan over time of caching HDD controllers for those reasons in fact!)

    APK
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2006
  20. rh535 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    161 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I hope it performs well and is cheap.
     
  21. XooM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    479 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Close to FrozenCPU.com
    yay for PCI bus, pointlessly bottlenecking it to sub-gigabit speeds from the start!. yay for being 100x larger than needed, having 1 NIC port, and generally being useless.
    far better solution: take any random crap old computer (ie p2) and 2 PCI NICs and set up a smoothwall or IPCOP router. I did and hot damn it smokes retail routers. theres a reason corporations use smoothwall or IPCOP boxen (or similar PC-based router systems) for routers... crap they're fast.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page