1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kingmax Displays 2GB DDR3-2000 Memory at CES

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It seems that the new barrier standard for high-performance DDR3 memory is at least 2000MHz. First Team Group, now Kingmax is showing off a 2GB memory module that is rated at 2000MHz. The DDR3 memory is claimed to work at 2.15V with CL9-9-9-24 timings and as you can see in the picture below, it is equipped with a heatsink very similar to that found on Corsair's Dominator modules. Apparently Kingmax is already taking orders for the new 2GHz memory so you should be seeing it and its price tag later this month.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The fact that it has a huge sink says enough about energy efficiency.
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i tohught ddr3 was suppose to work @ 1.5V
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    At least this kit looks better than the one that earlier made news, the one that had a huge heatsink fixed perpendicular to two modules. What's its CAS latency like? 9T? Not bad for 2000 MHz. We see 1333 MHz modules clocking out at that latency.
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    All the sticks I've seen at 1.5v are DDR3-1066. :shadedshu

    If I went to DDR3, I'd like to get some benefit over DDR2 :D
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    it could be for looks :rolleyes:
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    effing ricers ...
  8. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    nice cant wait to own 4 gigs of ddr3 2ghz :)
  9. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    They look a lot like the Corsair Dominator
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    1.5V is for standard modules. As was explained to me, these are factory OC'd. So they require more voltage. Im like you though, Ill move to DDR2 before I go to DDR3. The benefits of DDR3 arent there yet, at least, not for me.
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I think going over the 1.5v is moving away from one of the main advantages (if you see it that way) of DDR3. It'll only be a matter of time before someone makes decent enough chips to hit 2GHz or close too that require between 1.5 and 2v.
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Found this Xbit Labs article on DDR3 while looking for JEDEC DDR3 specs and whatnot.

    [​IMG]

    I suppose they are more or less on track. All those speeds and timings should be achievable at 1.5v eventually.
  13. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    :O....Wow, thats quite a bit of voltage going threw those. You could get probably get some pretty awesome timings at 1333/1600MHz though:p
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    That's for the Jedec standards. The Jedec Standard for DDR2 is 1.8V, but most hi performance kits run at 2.1+. It's the same deal with the hi performance DDR3 modules, more volts for more speed/tighter timings.
  15. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yea but 1.5v to 2.15v....Thats pretty crazy
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    It's no different than some of those DDR2 kits rated to run at 2.45V
  17. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Its the same, your right, 2.45V is also pretty crazy:p
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Agreed. I won't buy ram rated that high. Mine's rated @ 2.2V 1200MHz. It's all a matter of binning.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page