1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kingmax Unveils Hercules PC3-17600 DDR3 Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,230 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Memory manufacturer Kingmax announced the Hercules line of high-end DDR3 PC3-17600 memory modules for overclockers. Available in dual-channel kits for now, the Hercules can operate at 2200 MHz, with CAS latency of 10T, with DRAM voltage in the range of 1.5~1.7V. Optimized for Intel socket LGA-1156 processors, the modules support Intel Extreme Memory Profiles. Each kit includes two 2 GB modules. At 2200 MHz, each module provides a theoretical bandwidth of 17.6 GBps. There is no word on the availability or pricing.

    [​IMG]

    Source: NordicHardware
    skylamer says thanks.
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,792 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Hopefully these will run at a nice latency at a more sane frequency. Probably the only reason you would run them at 2.2GHz/10T is for the e-peen.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    10 CAS!!!! :shadedshu
    skylamer says thanks.
  4. Fishymachine New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    agree on that one 2200 10T is for bragging and servers.Worse than 1333 9T for average joe
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah Im liking the speeds but if they were on the X58, it wouldnt matter as much. BTW, I have never heard of Kingmax memory, is it available stateside?
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i can assure you that in latin america they are not
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    cas 10 WTF , anyway how about kingmax ram's i there is too many in our markets and i think about get one i see some good DDR3 with 1600 fsb and cas 7 seems good what you think

    other thing batarur i like you new avatar dumn su 47 i like it
  8. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Clock these down to 1866 with 6-7-6-18 timings and you'll get the best all around performance you can reasonably achieve with ddr3, while going a bit easier on your motherboard. Might even be possible to run 12 GBs of it at those settings.
  9. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    As far as my experience go, Kingmax is the kind of company you expect to buy crap from.
    Basically its a company that makes el cheapo stuff.
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,073 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Obvious Pissing contest item.
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,792 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yup. I don't think they look good, I mean I would rather have sticks that say "Dominator" or "Viper" rather than "Hercules". C'mon Kingmax, how lame can you get? Is this RAM supposed to pump iron at the gym?
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,574 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    lmao@Jstn7477. i think at least achilles would sound better than hercules. I'd only get these if 1:i could afford it, 2: to see how high a frequency you could obtain cause i wonder how fast these babies will run.
  13. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Well there's much more crappy stuff companies like Elixir, A-data, Patriot. Or some big ones that use to mix stuff for enthusiastic market like SuperTalent, Gey-L, Corsair and OCZ after they announce price drops in US, which mostly didnt reflect to the rest of the world for up to six month, and in meantime we had overpriced modules that came with totally crappy chips (rid off crap stocked chips that couldnt be used for best performing modules).
  14. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    They're pretty dominant in Asia and Europe. It's pretty great budget memory just like Transcend, Apacer or PQI and with DDR3 era they start to equip their memories modules with best ddr3 chips available (usually Microns) that from their stock 1333MHz easily OCed to 1800MHz with some extra voltage.
  15. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hercules! Hercules! Hercules! *claps*
    [​IMG]
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  17. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,073 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Hold up. I have used A-Data and Patriot. Both were great. And Patriot still has the only customer service that said they would call be back and then actually called me. Then they replaced some DOA sticks for me, for free and within that same week no less. Not going to defend A-Data cause I really only used 2 sets of their RAM for some budget builds and they are still working as far as I know (3 years and 1 year old rigs); however, I will defend Patriot.

    Since they want to do this, I hope whoever joins in this pissing contest uses Norse mythology. Then we can have Odin, Thor, and Ragnarök RAM sets.
  18. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    You reply on long dead thread. And like you have some personal issues with me?

    Well if you have all that brands its great. But I have Patriot, Corsair and they were piss poor crap in my case. Obviously we didnt have same batch so my point that some "big ones manufacturers" mix stuff exactly proofs point there.

    And theres even difference in Dominator series (which should have been the best) and XMS/XMS2 aren't even worth mentioning. For me Kingmax is best after TwinMos and SuperTalent but that doesnt mean nothing cause someone else have different experience. And Kingmax is usually much cheaper than those two i point out.

    :D I just try to point out my view. I dont try to convince him into it :D
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2010
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    stop the fighting :) kiss and make up

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page