1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kingston HyperX Beats 1600mhz oc?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by puma99dk|, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,355 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    i have been thinking about switching my Corsair Vengance LP 1600mhz 4x4gb to a set of Kingston HyperX Beast 2x9gb 1600mhz KHX16C9T3K2/16X ino they run 9-9-9 at 1600mhz at 1.5v so i was thinking about if i could oc they to 2400mhz at 11-13-13 at 1.65v as Kingston's HyperX Beast KHX24C11T3K2/16X runs at or they won't be able to?
     
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,232 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    There is a reason they are not rated to run 2400MHz at 1.65v... and its usually because they cant get there in the first place. Not to mention, outside of benchmarking, there are little to no gains to be had from overclocking memory in the first place.
     
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,355 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    well i was thinking about a set first and than upgrade later to a set more so i would have 32gb in my system ^^
     
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,232 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    I think, unless you can actually use that amount of ram, its useless to upgrade 'just to have it because its cheap'.

    Not to mention, the more ram you have, the more stress it will put on your IMC so your chances of reaching those speeds will decline even more.
     
  5. Sabishii Hito

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Only way to find out is to try, sometimes companies use the same ICs in the lower end kits as they do the high end ones, but usually they are down-binned parts that didn't pass all of the stability testing for the faster kits. Take the high end kit's specs as a starting point and loosen the timings and/or raise the voltage. I've been able to push every 2133 kit I have to 2400MHz, for instance.
     
  6. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    321 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    All that Kingston options are know like bad OCer Beast, Preadator, HyperX. If you want to OC you need to try with Mushkin 1866, Dominator GT/Platinum of GSkill. That Kingston memory if you can OC 1600 to 1866 that is success. Best way is some Dominator Platinum 2133 and instead of OC you go on tighter latency.
    Who care for 2400MHz with latency 12 and 13 and Command Rate 3T. Good is 1T and nothing more than 8-9.
    Kingston Beast is same range like Vengeance example only little higher frequency in many case to higher and work on less than in specifications...
    If you want good memory you must choose something in Dominator GT and TridentX level.
     
  7. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    952 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    Yeah G.skill RipJawZ CL9 is also very good, or Crucial Balistics low profile CL8 1600mhz 1.35v (probably the same as Samsung 1.35v) - these can do ~ 2260mhz CL9 or CL10 at ~1.55-1.60v.

    Imo those Corsair Platinum are not worth the price.

    As for these Kingston Beasts I was thinking of getting me a 2400mhz CL11 ones and downclock to ~ 2133mhz CL9. But idk i think i'll get me some G.skill instead. :D
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,064
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I agree upgrade is kinda pointless.

    But I don't agree more sticks makes for less speed. If it does, it's because BIOS does not adjust timings correctly when 4 sticks are installed.

    I'm starting to see more people hitting 2800 MHz with ZERO VCCSA/VTT voltage changes.
     
  9. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    321 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Dominator Platinum is maybe expensive and some models are only for high end enthusiast and that is CORSAIR Flagship and that cost. Tell for example 20 years when someone talk about DDR3 memery.
    In front of my eyes is Dominator Class.
    Example some with some models people can make good for not so high price, high but OK.
    CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 is newer 2x8GB perfect for motherboards and tighter latency in main slots.
    RAM work on 1.5V and 9-10-9-27 (9-9-9-24) I can bet he can same latency on 2133. Maybe and some 8 on 1.65V. You ger perfect memory for about 150$. 16GB. That is for finish wioth DDR3 for all times and worth.
    Do you know why I have 4GB, because I will not pay craps like Beast and similar things in Serbia.
    Kit of 2x8GB 2400 cost 120e. They are crazy. I would not pay 50$ for that. I want better RAM.
    GSkill again are not on our market, they make too 2x8 2400MHz RAM but two times better than Beast and similar price if you look price in retailer close to me.
    Now is best option 2x8GB and every manafucturer concentrate more on that except maybe for some ULTRA Fast half thousand $ kits for one purpose...
     
  10. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    I have a pair of Platinum 2x4GB 1600mhz and highest i could push them 24/7 stable is 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 T1,if you want a fast memory kit get a high binned one,but you will gain nothing by doing so.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page