1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kingston Slips in 512 GB SSDNow V+ SSD

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,557 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Kingston quietly made an addition to the SSDNow V+ series solid state drives (SSDs), the SSDNow V+ 512 GB (SNVP325-S2B/512GB). The new drive offers 512 GB of storage in its existing 2.5" form-factor. It uses multi-level cell (MLC) NAND flash chips, a controller that supports SATA 3 Gb/s and USB 2.0, and offers read/write speeds of 230/180 MB/s. It is available both as packages with just the drive, and in a bundle which includes SATA power and data cables, 3.5" to 2.5" spacers, USB cable, and a 2.5" enclosure which makes it portable. The bare drive is priced at roughly $1598 (US), and the bundle at roughly $1698.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  2. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    thats nice, but dam at the price tag. i wouldnt mind having that, give it 2-3 yrs and well be paying 70 bucks for 2 terabyte ssd drives
     
  3. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,739 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Ignoring the unsuprising high initial price for the SSD alone i think that $100 extra for some cables and a caddy is a little excessive.
     
    Completely Bonkers says thanks.
  4. mcloughj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    307 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    stoopid price. you could buy a 5 of 128gb drives and raid-0 them for far more speed and slightly more capacity for that kind of money.
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,902 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    WOW, and they want $100 for a few cables and spacers LMFAO.
     
  6. LoneEagle70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Very few people need a a big fast HD to store other than their OS, applications and games. Pictures, documents and music can fit nicely on a regular big, cheap and slower HD.

    Who really need such a big SSD other than company?

    I also agree that 100$ is way too much and should be included. Must cost them like 5$ for those extra.
     
  7. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yeah that's the thing about SSD post in this forum they need to name the post "the price/storage space". Then in the details below

    "yeah we know (the price and storage space again here). PLZ allow 5months to 2years for common sense." :roll:
     
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    for that cost I could get a decent raid controller and several raid edition drives for server use so I'm having a hard time seeing professionals using this either.

    seems more like another redintion of ssd as it sloly works its way toward being useful to most people. slowly.
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    People who buys this epeen extending device is not going to be bothered about the price anyway, so why not squeeze more profit?
     
    Completely Bonkers says thanks.
  10. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    We don't need all those "why not RAID smaller devices for faster speed cheap". No shit sherlock. That's obvious. Let's say you REALLY NEED massive storage in a laptop, medical or military device, or limited footprint set of rack servers, or if you want to RAID 0 a whole bunch of these to get a monster speed 4TB ├╝ber workstation.

    That's who it is for... people who will install these devices in equipment costing 10's if not 100's thousands $. The cost of the SSD is therefore small fry in comparison.
     
  11. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    $1698...lol
     
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The absence of USB 3 or SATA 3 (6gbps) is a big turn off. If your paying over 1000 dollars of hardware your going to use it until it breaks and the lack of forward thinking in it's design i.e. no USB 3 or SATA 3 (6gbps) is a huge strike against this product. You can buy some mechanical drives with SATA 3, but no SSD's? That's just dumb, as a SSD can actually make use of the increased bandwidth.
     
  13. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Problem is... arent any SATA 3 controllers out there... or rather, yes, there are a few prototypes, but it will be a while before they enter the main market. Kingston doesnt make their own controllers, or RAM for that matter, they just "select" and "glue". So until there is a working provien SATA 3 controller available for OEM there wont be any SATA 3 SSDs.

    Just wait a few months and I'm sure there will be plenty. If you google SSD SATA 6 controller you will see news of their arrival (6GB/s)
     
  14. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    [sarcasm] I'll take two, because I have $3,396 sitting around waiting for 1TB of SSD space..... [/sarcasm]
     
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm running 2 Patriot Torqx PFZ128 in raid 0, so I have half the space. I still have about 40 gigs of space left with almost all my games loaded, but I don't download anything on that computer as I have a rig dedicated for downloading alone.I also spent less than half of what 1 of these costs. Do I need it, no, but having windows load in 16.2 seconds (9 seconds after the password is typed all my startup programs are loaded) is damn nice.
     
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    100 bucks is too much for the accessories. That is a 80 dollar markup.
     
  17. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Nothing new really, all manufacturers mark up accessories in one way or the other. Also I don't think it's just the bare drive, if I'm not mistaken it's like the difference between a retail processor and a OEM processor. A bare drive usually only has a 1 year warranty where as a retail drive gets 3-5 years.
     
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    +1
     
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I will not buy an SSD until it's big enough to house my OS, games and program files. A 256GB SSD would be filled to the top, so I'm still waiting for 512GB SSD's.
    But over $1500 is too much of a price tag.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page