1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kingston SSDNow V Series Gen II 64 GB Raid 0

Discussion in 'Storage' started by $immond$, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I have ordered one of these already, I was wondering if I should order a second and place it RAID 0. My only concern is that it will degrade and slow down because TRIM will be disabled in RAID 0.

    Will I notice much of a slow down once I have installed everything on the SSD with TRIM disabled? Is there anything else I can use to keep the SSD fast if I set it up in RAID?
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Based on performance, I would sell that SSD and get something with a Sandforce controller on it. It will be as fast as two of those drives in RAID 0 and you'll have Trim.
  3. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    yea but for $100 you cant complain, is there any utilities out there for SSD's in RAID to keep them speedy?
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    WarEagleAU, trickson and $immond$ say thanks.
  5. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    780 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Yeah, so it cost $100. Well... Ever heard the magic phrase "not rich enough to buy cheap stuff"? :)
  6. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    $100CAD X2 per 64GB is pretty cheap. Your point?

    I understand its not going to perform the same level of more expensive SSD drives, but it is still a shitload faster than any mechanical hard drives in RAID 0. Since TRIM is not supported in raid yet I just want know of any apps that can keep them running relatively fast so I don't experience my system running to crawl once the disk space is nearly used up.

    I am not really interested in spending huge $$$ in SSD's yet specially with the lack of SATA 3 choices and limitations by Sata/RAID controllers.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Thank you for that little tool worked really nice .

    I am not sure but I would venture a guess that with out TRIM you will be seeing a slow down of some sort . But I am not an expert in the SSD's I just recently bought one and have it running quite well and it is very fast .
  8. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Thanks for the link btw erocker.

    Does anyone know if there will be TRIM support for RAID arrays for Server 2008?
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  9. ysith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    According to this review which is for the 128gb version of this ssd, using the same controller, these ssd's don't degrade that much in performance even without TRIM.
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    There should be in the near future an update to drivers and firmware that will support TRIM in raid modes. WHen that is, I am not sure, but I personally am hoping end of this year, Q1` of next.
  11. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I sold them and bought a 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce drive.
  12. Nickzy

    Nickzy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denmark
    That's a pretty good choice aswell, how is the transffer rates compared to the kingston drive?
  13. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I was hitting upwards of 480Mbps for read and 165-170 for writes with the 2 Kingston Drives in Raid 0, not bad for $200. I haven't installed my Sandforce yet, its still sitting on my desk.

    My AMD system failed running 2 SSD's in RAID 0, there seems to be issues with 850SB on the 890 chipsets, hence why I sold them and bought a single Sandforce drive. I wont to get another one, so I hope AMD is able to fix the problem, or I am switching to Intel.
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2010
  14. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I sold these drives to the same friend who bought my i7 Rig, I have to say they are faster than my single Sandforce drive and also score a higher windows 7 rating.

    7.3 where is I am only scoring 7.1, not to mention were $100 cheaper.
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page