1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

KNOCKOUT: 3850 AGP vs. 3850 PCIe

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by lemonadesoda, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. Harlock

    Harlock New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I had to repeat the test to grab also the details and ...........

    Same config.

    x11 Multiplier

    294Mhz FSB

    His 3850Agp @824/1035

    12349 points!!!! New Record

    Attached Files:

  2. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Got a run in for the AGP's
    [​IMG]
  3. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Best i can do is 3DMark05/06 and 01SE if interested? if it will run the dam thing =/

    The other ones im not sure of?

    As expected this ATI 3850 will refuse to run 3DMark 05 and 06, no idea why, it just crashes, ticks me off....
    But it will run 01SE i think.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2009
  4. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Well for me, I had to go back and reinstall DX9, then it worked, not sure why????
  5. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Don't think we can get a good comparison of the 2 cards due to the CPU limits on AGP boards vs. PCI-E boards. My card doesn't come close to any of these scores posted. It's pointless to compair them. AGP boards at most can put up 4000 at best where these PCI-E boards are supporting quad core's etc. Plus twice the bandwidth on your PCI-E vs. AGP.
  6. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Not sure what you mean by not a good comparison.
    These are running Quad core's, and on AGP, so it can be a fair determination based on same FSB CPU, and GPU speeds.
    Well heres a shot using Ati tool

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2009
  7. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    well you slap on a Pentium 4 single core with an 8x agp 3850 and the scores are incredibly different. I don't even come close to your scores.
  8. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I agree, but if you could run a 300FSB,:toast: then that would be what lemonadesoda is talking about.

    300 FSB AGP vs. 300 FSB PCIe

    Gotta admit, even with my other Ai7, 3.4EE, and nasty ass Bliss, you'd smoke me with youre setup.
    Heck, I'd prolly not keep up using the 3850 with it, because of my 220FSB limit of the EE:toast:
  9. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
  10. db_81 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I did this with a Q6600. My board wouldn't allow me to overclock any higher.
    [​IMG]

    I did this with an E6600 at 2.655Ghz. The card was clocked at 800MHz IIRC.
    [​IMG]
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Here is my score in 3DMark06.

    It is my main Rig < and nothing is overclocked.

    Ok added 3DMark05 for that single core experience lol

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 5, 2009
  12. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Thats a good score.

    What clocks are on ya 4000+? and what drivers did ya use?

    The link doesn't work by the way.
  14. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    Melvis,
    Please forgive me, I did not get a response from TPU that you posted - I guess this is an old thread.
    I will put up a new link - that one still works, just wait for it. I have upgraded since that post, but still have same AGP setup.
    jtleon

    P.S. The 4000+ is running 3Ghz. The vid driver is 6.14.10.6783 - not sure where I got that driver, will advise.

    P.S.S. Here's the new link (7444 new score):

    http://3dmark.com/3dm06/16252635
    I found the driver - its an XG driver - Xtreme-G Catalyst 8.4 XP 32bit AGP.exe
    Used to be found at tweakforce.com, but it looks like only 8.9 is available - 8.4 is gone.
    If you want 8.4 let me know and I will post a link.

    P.S.S.S. I overclocked my card GPU @ 792Mhz and Mem @ 972Mhz - from (720/910).

    Here's my latest score (7761).

    http://3dmark.com/3dm06/16328309

    P.S.S.S.S. OCD kickin in now! up'd the CPU OC to 2.97 with some OCZ goodness.

    New score 7802!
    http://3dmark.com/3dm06/16328471
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
    Melvis says thanks.
  15. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    hi later commer. and verry odd that i never posted my score..
  16. eR4s3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers

    First of all, sorry for revival of this old thread...anyways, I just ordered Sapphire HD 3850 AGP (replacing ASUS 9600xt) to extend life of this rig:
    [​IMG]

    So what are the scores I shoul expect with 2k03/06? Maybe around 5k on 2k06? And 03? As soon as I set this on AGP4x and install ati hotfix, I'll post results...
  17. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,245 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Hello eR4s3R, and welcome.

    Here at TPU we *like* retro, so there is never a need to apologize on reviving old threads, so long as you have something interesting to add :)

    Congratulations on the purchase of a HD 3850AGP. A great GPU. I hope you got it for a good price.

    HOWEVER, any P4 system stinks. And I know you don't want to hear it, but that P4 needs to die. With the SAME GPU you will DOUBLE 2k03 scores and double FPS performance in quake or HL engine games by swapping it out for a Q6600 or similar. Check the Conroe865PE threads. This mainboard will take your DDR1 RAM and your AGP GPU and pair them with a decent s775 CPU. The ASROCK 775i65 rev 2 is also a good mainboard.

    The great thing about the 865chipset s775 boards is that you DO NOT need to reinstall windows. You just more the HDD across. (Uninstall HDD first, and it will refind it on the new mainboard on reboot)
    eR4s3R says thanks.
  18. eR4s3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually I got it for 35 eur :toast: on Limundo (serbian ebay :laugh: ) I'm currently looking for some decent s775 board & c2d 6600, it's twice as cheap as q6600 (6600 are the best price/what you get until i5 2500k was born in my opinion). You think it's worth spending that more for q6600? Cheers
  19. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,245 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Check the Conroe thread for a discussion of what other CPUs are good. I think there is a more modern Celeron that would do s775 very well.

    I think you might like to look at some of these old benchmark tables I prepared in Excel... comparing the P4 2.40 to Q6600. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57401

    Check out the results for Q6600 2700 HD3850 OC vs. P4EE 3200 HD3850 on the 3dmark06 and Aquamark scores. And remember that a P4EE Galatin 3200 is 50% faster than a P4 2.4

    Anyway, whatever you do, remember the first rule: have fun!
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
    eR4s3R says thanks.
  20. eR4s3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
  21. eR4s3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interesting...be back with p4/3850agp scores soon, then I'll probably sell the whole d510 case (stock with 256 ram and 230w psu :laugh:) staying with 2gigs ddr400, 420w Chieftec with 15A 12v1 and 18A 12v2 and hd3850, and buy AsRock 775i65G + q6600... Million thanks for advice, now I'm becoming inpatient :)
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,421 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,953
    Location:
    Mexico
    eR4s3R, check out what version of the 775i65G you're getting. Version 1 only supports P4, version 2 and 3 support Core 2 Duo and Quad. A Q6600 is about the maximum I'd run with that board, when I had it it wouldn't run a QX6700 fully stable (crashes with Intel Burn Test).


    At this time spending money on an AGP system doesn't make sense. If you can, sell the PC and HD3850 and try to get something more current.
    eR4s3R says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. eR4s3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's 2.0 with Intel 925 3,00GHz/4M Cache/800MHz FSB for 45eur... guess I'll post results with this old p4, then I'll reconsider everything...thanks everyone for more than precise and helpful replies, like this forum!
  24. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,421 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,953
    Location:
    Mexico
    Here are some scores:

    P4 3.4Ghz + 3850 AGP:
    3dmark 06: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/15905024
    3dmark 05: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5394674
    3dmark 03: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6426296

    Core 2 Duo E4600 2.4Ghz + 3850 AGP:
    3dmark 06: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/15919228
    3dmark 05: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5396406
    3dmark 03: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6427414

    Pentium Dual Core E5800 3.2Ghz + 3850 AGP:
    3dmark 06: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/15941798
    3dmark 05: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5398984
    3dmark 03: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6429044


    QX3800 3.2Ghz + 3850 AGP:
    3dmark 06: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/17075086
    3dmark 05: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5476584
    3dmark 03: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm03/6489181
    eR4s3R says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,245 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Useful benchmarks TRWOV, thanks for the links.

    I would concur. Don't invest in this system. If you can get hold of a CHEAP Q6xxx, then do. But don't spend a premium on it. If you really want to keep an AGP DDR1 system going, then you could get E6600 or a E4400(L2) with a nice big OC on it. http://www.asrock.com/mb/cpu.asp?model=conroe865pe

    Playing with these setups was fun in 2008-2010. Getting as much AGP performance as a PCIe system. But today, you can buy cheap 22nm Intel processors and cheap PCIe GPUs that would smoke those 2008 systems. Better to spend the same money on a modern system. Warranties. Software compatibility. Lower power = cooler = less noisy = not expesive to run 24/7

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page