1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Koolance Ready with Radeon HD 5970 Water-Block

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    PC water-cooling specialist Koolance is ready with its water-block for the ATI Radeon HD 5970 dual-GPU graphics card. The Koolance VID-AR597 water-block provides full-coverage to the obverse side of the PCB, covering all essential components such as the two AMD Cypress GPUs, the ATI/PLX bridge chip, the VRM areas, and some of the memory chips. From the looks of it, users will have to retain the back-plate for cooling memory chips on the reverse side. The block material is nickel-plated copper, the plating minimizes oxidation of the block, some parts of which are constantly in contact with the water/coolant. It is expected to be available in three days from now, priced at US $140.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ATi-Forum.de
     
  2. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    872 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Latvia
    Omg!!!
     
  3. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Looking good
     
  4. Tom20

    Tom20 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was expecting price to be 1k.
     
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    not bad at 140, should be all copper coated in GOLD! :ROFL!
     
  6. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Useless.

    The new Vapor chamber implement in the 5970 cooler is more than enough.
     
  7. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    :eek::rockout:Very nice! Good price too. Now all I need to go with this block is a 5970:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    There are some crazy people that do some crazy things to their cards.
    Well, these crazy people are call the enthusiast.
    For them nothing is enough. :laugh:
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,382 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,401
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Really? Because it seems that the 5870 end up clocking a bit better.
     
  10. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Not if you want quiet overclocking.
     
  11. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Understood, sorry i forgot overclocking...
     
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,382 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,401
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    For stock clocks any factory cooler should be good enough, waterblocks aren't for stock clocks ever though. With a normal 5870 overclocking is nice, but with a 5970, I would feel bad not OCing it, because they underclocked it, still got to OC it 125mhz just to get back the performance they took from anyone who buys it (which is fine because that allows them to lower the cost).
     
  13. lism New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    They clocked it down because of absurds TDP values.
     
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah this is good if the card has ability to voldmod easily (which it does as it comes with software)... this block will let you get over 1GHz on both cores without a problem.
     
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,382 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,401
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    When buying a dual GPU card, who worries about TDP?
     
  16. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I do.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I guarantee my loop would have better temps.

    Fibber. Unless by "worry about", you mean make it as ridiculously high as possible without catching everything in the rig on fire. :D
     
  18. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,788 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Do want.


    Where the F is the eyefinity model with more vmem?
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  19. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    lol, so do I! :laugh:

    *checking bank account*.......*:twitch:*.....*:wtf:*.....*:cry:*
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page