1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kubuntu sound issue

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by mab1376, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    on my laptop it auto detects my realtek HDA chip no prob and auto configs ALSA but does not playback anything.

    any suggestions

    im running 7.10 btw
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    try getting a version higher, i had the same problem with ubuntu, i got gusty gibbon and it worked fine :)
     
  3. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    7.10 is gusty gibbon. the next version (8.04) is hardy heron and is still alpha
     
  4. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,784 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,232
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Try using the legacy OSS driver. Under the KDE Control Center, choose OSS as your sound server.
     
  6. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    oss does not work. i also tried the driver on realteks site and all it did was remove the sound system...

    my mobo is a compal ifl90 btw
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,784 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,232
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Get back to KDE CC > Sound Server > ALSA, manually set the sample rate ro 44100 Hz, 16 bit/sample, restart sound-system
     
  8. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    that also did not work :banghead:
     
  9. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    D'you mean there's absolutely no sound, or that media players are the only things not playing audio?

    If the latter, install some codecs, can't remember the commands I used, but just search on Ubuntu forums, someone will have posted it by now.
     
  10. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    yes absolutely no sound whatsoever :cry:

    i wish they would add the realtek HDA chip into the restricted driver manager since realtek does make their own linux driver.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2007
  11. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    do solution number 3 of the link I gave.
     
  12. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    no good....
     
  13. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    aren't you using a sound card? If you cant find creative drivers and descided to use the onboard ones did you plug in the speakers to the outputs of ur mobo?
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,784 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,232
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    There's no Creative X-Fi Driver for 32-bit Linux.
     
  15. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    oops didnot see that its on the laptop.
    Do you get the sound when you logon. What sort of files are you trying to play MP3 isn't supported out of the box.
     
  16. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    no sound at logon, and not sound when i playback an mp3 (installed support) or test file in sound system settings.
     
  17. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Try the ubuntu forums they might be able to help.
     
  18. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    yeah i posted they made some suggestions also with no luck, i think i might need to update my kenel im using 2.6.22-14-generic
    2.6.23-12 is out, how do i update my kernel?
     
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,784 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,232
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That's like building a space-shuttle. You're better off downloading the latest stable build of Kubuntu. Else switch to another distro, like OpenSuSE/ Mint.
     
  20. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    If it helps I have the DVD version of 7.10 and it worked out of the box for me.
    Open synaptic package manager in search type realtek and see if any sound relating stuff are there and install 'em. Also try 7.04 if in live cd the sound works and do check the restricted driver manager(do you get any message?)
     
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,755 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,573
    that is strange. ive got good sound coming from a 7 year old thinkpad
     
  22. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    955 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    well the older it is with linux the more chances you have of compatibility.

    im guessing the ALC268 chip is fairly new since alot of people seem to have the same issue of you search the net.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page