1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

L12 mod... how?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by pablofrogo, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. pablofrogo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lytham... in England
    I'm looking to O/C my CPU a bit more, but I can't get much more out of it right now, and it's not too stable when I go any higher. I've not done the L12 mod and I think that's what's holding me back, so does anyone know how to do it or where I could find a guide?
     
  2. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    pablo ... check with Wazzledoozle he has the same board .... but I don't think he's done the mod
     
  3. pablofrogo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lytham... in England
    I've PMed him, not sure if he'll notice though.

    Does anyone know if it does anything other than force the FSB to 200Mhz? I can already do that in the BIOS, so if it does nothing else it seems pretty pointless.
     
  4. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I was going to say contact Urylin, he did it to the mobile. :confused:

    I believe you need to get conductive paint, and paint a trace line then cover it with scotch tape to keep it from scratching.

    There are a lot of good guides..

    And I remember this guy did a big log on how he benchmarked without the L12, and then with it. No difference.
    If I can find it ill post it.
    Here it is-
    http://www.geocities.com/trats102002/nf7sFsbsense.html
     
  5. pablofrogo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lytham... in England
    Sounds a bit pointless then, thanks anyway.

    Do you know any ways I can get my system to clock higher? My system has pretty good air cooling on the CPU, Passive Zalman cooling on the northbridge, no RAM heatsinks though.. I've also got 2 80mm exhausts, a 120mm exhaust in the top of the case and an 80mm intake in the side just under the level of the GFX card. My chip has the AQYHA stepping (I think.. I know it's the same as the really good OCer stepping except for the A at the beggining)
    How'd you get your's to 2.5Ghz wazzle?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2005
  6. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Pablo ... I used WCPUID to change the multi on the mobile chip Wazz has ... link and you can try W1zzards new Systools to OC the FSB link
     
  7. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I have to use 1.8 vcore, in the bios I have to set 1.85 to actually get 1.8 volts on the core.
    Then FSB of 200, with a multiplier of 12.5

    Its too hot this time of year to run that speed, so im running 2.4 GHz at 1.725 (in bios, 1.7 actual) vcore.
     
  8. pablofrogo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lytham... in England
    I'm trying to raise the FSB at the moment, raising the multiplier seems to upset OCCT, in-fact raising anything upsets OCCT. I got stable at 2.2G with 1.65v (1.62v) and anything above that seems to make it unstable.
    MemTest shows no errors at 205FSB but I'm yet to try OCCT.
    I think I'll need some better cooling before I up the Volts past 1.75 (1.72) but I'll go up to that if it makes it stable.
     
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Occt?

    What temps are you getting now?

    This weekend im going to try and go for high fsb and lower multiplier. Probably 2.42 GHz at 220 FSB and 11 multi. More bandwidth :D
     
  10. pablofrogo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lytham... in England
    OverClock Checking Tool. Google "OCCT" and it'll be at the top of the list (it's a french thing so google'll have to translate it)

    Idle Temps: Low 40s
    Load: Never higher than 50
     
  11. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    My general boundry is no higher than 55 c at load.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page