1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lag upon entering game

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Zaspera, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    I play World of Warcraft and upon loading the game and entering the world, I have some video lag. Characters take a few seconds to appear etc. Why is this happening? The computer in question is the one in my specs. Thanks.
  2. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    might be a server issue...I play MW1 and on some servers I have a tad bit of lag at the very start...

    Does it do it on all the servers you play on or just 1

    *note*
    never played WOW but i'm guessing the game has multiple servers?
  3. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    plus defrag hdd never hurts
  4. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    Well I know my hard drive is setting me back with this rig. Could that be what it is?

    @brandenburg: it happens on the 2 servers I have played on.
  5. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    The drive was 1% fragmented, but I ran defrag anyways. Any other suggestions?
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    It's network related and there's not much you can do about it. It happens with most MMO's.
  7. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    run speednet and see what your ping is
    you running your ram stock or oc'ing them to 1600?
  8. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    [​IMG]

    Everything in this rig is stock at the moment.

    @erocker I understand that, but there's not a damn thing I can do to eliminate it or fix it a little?
  9. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    it's streaming the content in, simple as that.

    if you honestly cannot survive the minute of characters loading into existence an ssd might help. it doesn't impact gameplay in the slightest so i don't know why you are so worried.
  10. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    It doesn't impact gameplay. You're right. But it is extremely annoying. I assumed that was what the loading screen was for.
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The only "fix" is don't play WoW :p
    All silliness aside, that have to do with the engine of WoW, and has been so since The Burning Crusade.

    Even a SSD wouldn't be much help in this case.
    Zaspera says thanks.
  12. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    It's a client/server communication deal. Some games have longer loading screens, others will load things in while you're standing around. Basically your client only has a certain area around you loaded at any given time. As you move through the world it sends a request to the server and new objects will appear at whatever distance away from you. When you first load into an area you get stuck at a loading screen while it loads in everything all at once, or like what you're experiencing, it all comes in over time after the most basic stuff is in.

    No hardware issue here. Just how it works. Personally, I'll take things coming in separately over having a long loading screen. At least you have the chance to start moving to where you need to go. :pimp:
    Zaspera says thanks.
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What's your download/upload speeds with your ISP? (Your ping time is really good).
  14. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    15d/7up according to speedtest
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    That's plenty fast for online gaming. Maybe the server isn't pushing it fast enough.
    I would imagine that there is a huge load on WoW servers .. even with fat pipes to handle the bandwidth of a jillion players.
  16. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    This happens to me. It just takes a few seconds to load everything up. There is a lot to load. Completely normal. If it persists then you have a problem
  17. ITaoI New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    It normal, but you could lowering your FOV distance. Your rigs more than good enough for it btw

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page