1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LAN connecting/reconnecting

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by xstayxtruex, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. xstayxtruex

    xstayxtruex

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    This may be a software fault, but my network connection will disconnect and almost immediately reconnect.

    This can be really annoying when downloading something or talking over instant messenger. if there's anything anyone else has experienced or solved, i need some kind of resolve.

    Thanks.
  2. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Try updating ethernet drivers.
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Is this wired? Wireless? What devices? Does the LAN actually say it disconnects or are we talking about your internet connection?
  4. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Could be your router. A simple fix would be to update the firmware of the router. Maybe even a hard boot of the router will work [unplug for 30 sec plug back in]

    Could be your ethernet port is faulty or needs drivers to be reinstalled.

    And not so likely could be a fault Ethernet cable.but that isn't likely.

    Edit:

    If it is wirless, you could be too far away from the access point.

    Update/re-install the drivers for the wireless adapter.

    Make sure you dont have anything that could interfere with the connection between you and the access point. [i.e. a microwave]
  5. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    597 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
    Check network adapter in device manager,under power management tab,uncheck let computer allow to shut of device? maybe? worth a try!
  6. SimFreak47

    SimFreak47 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    557 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    In a city, thats in a state which is in the US, an
    If your on a router, then disconnect the router, and plug whatever computer into the cable/dsl modem.

    If the problem is gone, then the problem is the router, and if it continues, then you might wanna get a new lan cable, and see if that helps ;)
  7. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Does it lose the connection all together? like a little icon pop up in the bottom right corner?
    Try a different cable if you have a spare one lying around.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page