1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Landed with a mobo that doesn't work

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by cookiemonster, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I had an e-mail from Scan this morning saying they had tested the top slot ing the motherboard and and there was no problem with it and to phone them which i did and they cannot replace it as it worked for them, I told the lady that the problem is it didn't work for me and there was a problem with the top slot, she couldn't tell me what card they used to test it, so i told her what card i had and she was going to get in touch with the testing people and see what they say, but she did say that they couldn't replace or refund it as it had tested allright for them, but she will get back to me and it might mean returning the card to me to which i said it doesn't work for me, so it would seem i have a problem , any ideas, it looks like i will be landed with a mobo that doesn't work. HELP.

    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB WIFI
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  3. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    appologies to all getting a little screwed up.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    just return the board for a refund of your money
     
    95Viper and cookiemonster say thanks.
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I have one idea... make sure that the card is completely seating into the slot, as the heatsink, at the rear of the slot, seems to have a rise in the area of that first slot.
    I have not seen that board up close and personal; and can only go by pics, but it is an idea.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Make sure that the Monitor is on and that it has power. There should be an LED indicator on the front of the monitor somewhere. There should also be a cable on the back that runs to the back of your PC (you or your family might sometimes refer to this as your 'modem')
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  8. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi thanks for the info monitor turned on and working dvi cables working the one thing i wondered about was what 95Viper said about the card being completely seated in the slot as i noticed the blue heatsing at the back of the card but as the card locked in i thought no more about it, I did ask Scan if they could test it with an XFX 6970 card and she said she would talk to her manager now its a waiting game.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    sounds like the onboard video is defaulting on, IMHO. Can be a problem on many boards. BIOS clear and re-boot generally fixes it.
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    And if all these good suggestions do not work, try contacting Gigabyte UK support direct and see if they can help you..... in the first instance you can e mail their UK service centre.......

    returns@gbt-tech.co.uk
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  11. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi been in touch with Gigabyte and they said it mobo returned to send it to them for further testing, just got to wait for Scan now and see what they decide.

    Hi further update just been on the phone and Scan and the lady said she is waiting confermation to give me a refund, what do i do now as I liked that board and don't really want to change from Gigabyte.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  12. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi well Scan came through full refund authorised which is strange as there was nothing wrong with the board according to them, well what do i do now I don't really want to take a chance with the same mobo do i blow the bank and go for a

    Gigabyte G1 Sniper 3 S1155 Intel Z77 DDR3 ATX.
    any advice i would like to stick to Gigabyte.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Look at AsRock.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  14. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, well Gigabyte G1 Sniper 3 S1155 Intel Z77 DDR3 ATX. it is, know any good web sites other than scan to use, ebuyer don't have it, Dabs and Awd-it do any info on those or do you know any others.
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    +1

    I have been very pleased with my MSI Z68A-GD80(G3) motherboard. I can't say that I was a MSI fan before getting this board, and the only reason I got it was because of the great price I was offered for it. But since I've had it, the board has proven to be a very reliable, a very good OC'er, and I could not be happier with it's performance. :toast:
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    423 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Australia
    What's that meant to mean? AsRock was originally a Asus subsidiary. Now it resides under Pegatron, which was another Asus subsidiary, but as far as I know, is now an independent company.

    I originally only bought Gigabyte boards, but after completing a few Asrock builds, and even buying one myself, I now fully support and recommend their boards. They offer all the features of the bigger brands, but at a better price. Rock solid.

    Edit: If Aquinus means do not just limit your choice to only ASRock, then I do apologize.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've owned 2 ASRock motherboards in the past, and I wasn't incredibly happy with either of them. Granted it has been at least 5 years since the last one I bought and I've been told that they've changed a lot (for the better,) and I can tell that just by looking at some of their boards. However, I've never had a problem with an ASUS branded board and the only issue I had with an MSI board in the past was the fact that I flashed the wrong BIOS to my motherboard. MSI was more than happy to send me a new BIOS chip to see if that would work (which had the latest BIOS on it,) and when it didn't they let me RMA it and I had it back in 2 weeks from when I shipped it.

    All in all, I've had great luck with MSI and ASUS so I tend to prefer and recommend them more than ASRock (because of my own experiences).

    I've bought only 1 gigabyte board and the BIOS was very finicky until I updated the BIOS. Since I don't have a whole lot of experience with them, I don't recommend or discourage people from Gigabyte.


    That is exactly what I meant. :)
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  19. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    423 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry :eek:

    I was naturally cautious of ASRock, at first, after hearing a few issues (I guess you hear that about any manufacturer though), but I was pleasantly surprised with their latest offerings. If cookiemonster manages to find a good deal on an ASRock board; it is a good one to consider.

    That's what I call customer support!


    I can't really comment on Asus boards, as I haven't had one since the PIII days, but that board was great.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,623 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,085
    Location:
    Rochester area
    are you using a ivybridge chip the top slot ONLY works if you are using ivybridge
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  21. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it's an i5 3570k ivybridge.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012
  22. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi can't go for the Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, Intel Z77, S 1155, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, SATA RAID, PCIe3.0, D-Sub/ DP/ DVI/ HDMI, E-ATX as it was pointed out to me it's an E-ATX board and my case won't take an E-ATX only up to an ATX board so luckily i didn't order it. I am going for a

    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH, Intel Z77, S 1155, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, PCIe 3.0 (x16), D-Sub, DVI-D HDMI Thunderbolt

    thanks for all the advice and help I will let you know what happens.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    before 2010 they were Ok, 2010 and Higher they are breaking OC records.

    I have had a bad past with Asus and so have customers i had to fix machines for, to me they are overrated like corsair.

    Ive had better luck with ECS than Asus for that matter.

     
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The two ASRock boards I bought were a little older than 2010. As in the first one was a skt478 board which ran a P4 2.53ghz and the second was one of the older skt775 boards with a P4 630. The second had voltage control for everything except the CPU which bothered me a lot.
     
  25. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI Dual Thunderbolt 7.1 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard arived today from ebuyer can't wait to get started.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page