1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop Clubhouse!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by kurosagi01, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well, ill see if i can reveal the true nature of the 5650 on this lappie when i get it for you guys :D
     
  2. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    So can i join as well.

    Laptop in the specs sheet. :)
     
  3. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,661 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    you wouldnt be able to game on a macbook unless your using bootcamp for XP or something. then comes the issue with hardware... I have no idea what the current last GPU the new macbook has but i doubt its gonna be anywhere near as good as that 5650, even then... what games a compatible with MAC???
     
  5. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Well, there's Portal and the Half-Life series now.
    But I agree. Gaming is not what Mac is made for.
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,661 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    TF2 has also been ported to Macbook - a friend of mine has BEEN playing it on his macbook but he can only manage low settings & personally - if you can ONLY run a game on low settings then the games not worth playing at all unless the game has a storyline thats so f**king kick ass Jack Black is a reincarnation of jesus. (my personal opinion) his macbook struggled to play TF2, i think his Macbook is about less then 1yr old
     
  7. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    +1 on low settings for a game. But I have noticed some Macs have the 4xxx ATi cards in them.
    Although, with drivers, I'm not sure if that is even very relevant.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,661 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270

    after looking on the apple website - Macbook Pro's should handle fine as they supposedly have an NVIDIA GeForce 320M built in (according to their website) but Prices range from £850 (Basic 13.3") to over £1000

    - I currently have no idea of the current Macbook spec as Apples website doesnt seem to want to load up their Macbook page.


    .:edit:.

    Hmmmm even the standard macbook uses the Nvidia 320m
     
  9. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Hey guys,yesterday i got a big package arrival yesterday and it turned out to be 2 laptops lol,my dad's laptop and my brother's laptop which his old one broke so i persuaded my dad buy him a new one aswell as his laptop,since my dad wanted a laptop lol.
    Well anyways the laptops i have picked for my dad and my brother are Lenovo G550 and Asus K50ID.
    Reasons for purchasing laptops is my dad wanted a basic laptop to watch things online and my brother's old laptop broke so he needed new one.
    Specs are here:
    Lenovo G550 £299.97
    Asus K50ID £549.97
    I apologise for poor image quality they was taken at night with my phone.:
    Delivery:
    [​IMG]
    The boxes:
    [​IMG]
    Group picture of all 3 laptops*my current laptop*
    [​IMG]
     
  10. TheCrow

    TheCrow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    399 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    Both of them are nice specs!
     
    kurosagi01 says thanks.
  11. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Thanks man i appreciate the feedback :D
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Early in the year you advised me to buy this lappy, Looks like I got a better deal :p
     
  13. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    lol i probably did but nowadays ebuyer isn't giving any good deals for good gaming needs haha.
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    this is my new baby

    yes i know, Toshiba, gah.....but im surprised over it really,

    specs

    Toshibe Satellite
    i3 330 dualcore with ht 2.1ghz
    5650 1gb
    500gig hd, might get a ssd later on
    2x2 gb mem
    15.6" wannabee led screen thingie (only HD)

    it runs mw1+2, l4d1+2, Blur and MOH Beta perfectly

    will see about getting some better shots of it later
    [​IMG]
     
  15. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Very nice laptop indeed! How much did that set you back?

    What's the total weight?
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    around 750$, which is a good price here in Denmark, all hardware is 20% more expensive than most other countries

    it weighs 2.8kg i think it is
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  17. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Wow, not bad at all! I really like that laptop you have!

    Just under a week ago I traded:

    a Dell 23" LCD 1920x1080
    AMD 720BE
    2x2GB DDR2 1000mhz
    asus matx mobo
    his 5830
    antec ea 650
    2 samsung F3 500gb hdd's
    and a dvdrw

    for

    Gateway P-7811 FX

    Intel P8400 dual core 3mb cache 2.2ghz
    2x2GB DDR3 1066mhz memory
    17-inch WUXGA TFT (1920 × 1200)
    512MB 9800M GTS
    hdmi / esata / 802.11n / memory card reader 3 usb modem/lan
    has a 2 pcie express slots (bluetooth, 3g)
    200Gb 7200 RPM drive (storage drive now)
    1.3MP cam

    and a X-FI 5.1 surround usb sound interface which I am currently using with the optical out to my onkyo and sounds pretty good.

    I sold the case and bought 2 60GB SSD's from dark2099.. gave one SSD away and put the other in the 7811FX as a boot and games drives (some games anyway)

    In mw2 I disabled ragdoll, shadows and spec map and I never drop below 70 fps @ 1920x1200.. TF2 plays max'd out with vsync on steady 60.. the SSD is ok.. i guess it's cool that I can load a map in 3 seconds.. if the laptop didnt have 2 bays i wouldn't have gotten the SSD.. I bought a nexstar esata enclosure for my 500gb SG 32mb cache hdd which I am currently storing about 350GB of movies and 50GB of music and <25gb of aps and the rest has steam backups and other crap leaving me with 3.6gb of free space lol...

    Overall I am quite happy with this laptop. I am loving it simply for the portability alone but also the amount of space I've regained in my room is great.. not to mention being able to still play games at decent setting with very acceptable frame rates and the ability to continue to output movies into my 40" 1080p LCD on tha wall... the only thing I do hate about this laptop is that the screen isn't "widescreen" 16:9 which im very used to and that the quickest cpu I can install in this laptop still costs over $330 and that would be the T9900 6mb cache/2.8ghz cpu

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  18. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    My laptop is in system spec << looks like the place for me :p
     
  19. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Shev, how do you like that 17" 1920x1200 screen? Isn't all of the text and icons extremely tiny? :wtf:
     
  20. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Man i do get urges to want trade my desktop for a mid-range gaming laptop,i haven't really got use for a desktop since i will soon be on the move a lot a desktop won't cut it for me,yeah i got a laptop but it wouldn't be able to play games i would like it to like Borderlands or something,it play all those free MMO games and CSS,killing floor and L4D but i want be able to play like borderlands.

    Anyone in UK that has gaming laptop would like to swap my desktop for it shoot me a PM lols.
     
  21. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats a mighty fine laptop you got instead of the rig you had before imo
    a fair trade i must say :):toast:
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,661 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    you can get a decent enough gaming laptop here in the UK between £800-1000 if you look hard enough. but you;d be lucky to get something that can play borderlands for £800, that price would play L4D no problem though
     
  23. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    It's taken me some time to get used to it that's for sure. Whenever I am at the desk I either have to scoot the laptop up close or ctrl++ in google chrome to zoom the page...

    That's mostly because I use an external KB+Mouse at the desk and they reside on a slide out tray which put me about 2.5 feet from the laptop if im sitting back in my chair...

    So yea, now I just scoot the laptop close to me and it works out great..

    I am considering getting another monitor though.. If I can catch a deal on a <24" x1080 monitor with HDMI I am going to grab it! I can then run the HDMI out into that and it would be much better plus I might even gain a few FPS since the res would be lower...

    I do admit though, in MW2 it's pretty hard to spot targets because of the DOV and the player sizes.. but in TF2 there are no issues and for some reason I have become re-addicted to the game because I don't know how but for some reason I have become a beast with the sniper rifle with consecutive 8-10 kill streaks.. LOL

    I have never been much of a gamer.. I do like to play games, but I do not play them everyday nor do I play them for hours on end.. once in a while I like to fire one up and enjoy it.. so thats why I chose a laptop like this one.. I use my PC mostly for music, web, movies and buying desktop upgrades..the last one Im trying to not do anymore.. I'm hoping to finally save some money now since I don't own a desktop that I want to swap parts out on every 3 weeks...

    In the past year I've spent almost $4600 on Pc hardware and shipping charges and the only thing I own from my 70 heatware is my 3.2mp camera i paid $25 for and this laptop lol..it's time to be content with what I have and stop wasting so much money on framerates and benchmark scores

    The other day I played TF2 at restaurant while me and my friend waited for our food... now that was cool lol
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  24. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    My brother's laptop is £550 and it can play Borderland at his resolution 1366 something at low to medium settings and it runs about 30-40fps.
    I did see this ACER laptop just now:
    Acer Aspire 5732ZG Laptop - Laptops | Ebuyer.com
    Which has similar specs to the one i reconmended ot Fourstaff,well its a hope anyway i very doubt i can get much for my desktop to afford a decent enough laptop lol.

    Edit: i have edited the 1st post with everyone Lappy models etc and also shev i'm glad your happy with your purchase :)
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  25. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Anyone any replacement motherboard websites for ACER notebooks?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page