1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ahh I just ran it with everything open also. Nope can't upgrade...it's dell defiantly not mxm.
  2. Pemalite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Definatly a shame, Laptops are to expensive and limited in they're options when it comes to upgrading and getting more performance.
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yeah, but what are you going to do.
  4. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    I've been able to play most games on a not OCed environment on my notebook. 50fps on cod4 everything set at max 1440 x 900, nfs prostreet played 1440 x 900 everything max, 35fps MoH Airborne 1440 x 900 and 1280 x 800 Crysis (cos I did not display 1440 x 900) @ everything medium with object detail high @ 25fps. I've hit 5.8k on 3DMark06 and 21995 on 3DMark03...I'm starting my plans for 8800M GTX SLI now :p
  5. Pemalite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Show off! I think I'll keep my laptop and just upgrade my desktop, Keep my laptop as a portable DVD player/MP3 machine/Torrenting/Byond Game hosting.
  6. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I have a hp tx1308nr
    with a
    Turion 64 TL-58
    1.5 Gigs of ram
    a 6150
    the chipset of the motherboard is a 410/430 MCP
    I have managed to get the FSB to 250 via ntune and coolbits (so its a 450mhz overclock)
    Ntune will not let me put the fsb above 250, and no other program I tried (Clockgen...i tried more I just cant remember which ones right now...) even functions, they claim to change the fsb but show no actual change. Does anyone have any Ideas?

    P.S. My temps are fine, please dont bother me about how its a bad idea etc etc, I have a hd2900 overclocked partitioning my matx case and it does not break 71c. I will make it work lol
  7. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hi um does anyone know what the most common PLL used on i855PM laptop motherboards is? I used to be able to overclock my M755 2.0 to about 2.3, but now it dies horrendously at 2080.
  8. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hey,

    I've been reading through this thread and a lot of other ones and tried to follow your steps to OC.... I got to the step where you increase by 100mhz, and when I tried to apply that, it went back to normal and wouldn't let me... So I'm thinking it's a locked BIOS or something like that, I will try systool, but i'm new to that program . . . .here are my system specs hopefully this will help a little... I just copied these from spickets of the DxDiag.txt

    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
    Card name: ATI Mobility Radeon X1600
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x71C5)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_71C5&SUBSYS_309F103C&REV_00
    Display Memory: 256.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Default Monitor
    Monitor Max Res:
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6677 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 3/2/2007 12:53:38, 265728 bytes
    System Model: HP Compaq nx9420 (RB549UT#ABA)
    BIOS: KBC Version 54.3C
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 2048MB RAM
    Page File: 595MB used, 2832MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
    ------------------------
    Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
    ------------------------
    Drive: C:
    Free Space: 27.7 GB
    Total Space: 88.6 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: FUJITSU MHW2100BH
    Name: ATI Mobility Radeon X1600
    Device ID: PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_71C5&SUBSYS_309F103C&REV_00\4&31B7BFB9&0&0008
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ati2mtag.sys, 6.14.0010.6677 (English), 3/2/2007 12:53:20, 1972224 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ati2erec.dll, 1.00.0000.0010 (English), 3/2/2007 12:15:10, 49152 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ativvpxx.vp, 3/2/2007 13:32:38, 40688 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ativckxx.vp, 8/23/2006 15:26:56, 2096 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ativcaxx.vp, 1/10/2007 10:32:44, 929 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ativcaxx.cpa, 1/10/2007 10:32:44, 655842 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\ativdkxx.vp, 8/23/2006 15:26:56, 2096 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2dvag.dll, 6.14.0010.6677 (English), 3/2/2007 12:53:38, 265728 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2cqag.dll, 6.14.0010.0334 (English), 3/2/2007 12:11:46, 348160 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2mdxx.exe, 6.14.0010.2495 (English), 3/2/2007 12:47:36, 26112 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati3duag.dll, 6.14.0010.0487 (English), 3/2/2007 12:38:54, 2824512 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ativvaxx.dll, 6.14.0010.0144 (English), 3/2/2007 12:29:24, 1288960 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atiicdxx.dat, 2/26/2007 07:44:06, 147685 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ativvaxx.dat, 3/2/2007 12:29:08, 3107788 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ATIDDC.DLL, 6.14.0010.0008 (English), 3/2/2007 12:45:34, 53248 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atitvo32.dll, 6.14.0010.4200 (English), 3/2/2007 12:16:24, 17408 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2evxx.exe, 6.14.0010.4162 (English), 3/2/2007 12:46:14, 446464 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2evxx.dll, 6.14.0010.4162 (English), 3/2/2007 12:47:20, 110592 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atipdlxx.dll, 6.14.0010.2516 (English), 3/2/2007 12:47:52, 118784 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2edxx.dll, 6.14.0010.2511 (English), 3/2/2007 12:47:32, 42496 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atikvmag.dll, 6.14.0010.0052 (English), 3/2/2007 12:17:38, 258048 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atifglpf.xml, 2/16/2007 10:04:14, 7072 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ATIDEMGX.dll, 2.00.2617.28637 (English), 3/2/2007 12:54:36, 307200 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atiiiexx.dll, 6.14.0010.4004 (English), 3/2/2007 12:57:04, 307200 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atioglgl.xml, 2/23/2007 11:30:58, 13007 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Atioglgl.dll, 6.14.0010.6388 (English), 3/2/2007 12:50:18, 6176768 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\atioglxx.dll, 6.14.0010.6388 (English), 3/2/2007 12:21:16, 5398528 bytes
  9. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Also I'm running the orthos test right now for about the past 20 minutes and it says the temp in notebook hardware control 2.0 is about 90C.. never gets above that but once it gets there the fan speeds up and then it drops back down to 85 and it's in that range most of the time...i know that' very hot compared to a lot of yours... any suggestions..?... i know i read about undervolting, but obviouisly to little makes the syste unstable, higher frequency and less power how good is that?
  10. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    92 right now....:confused: but then it goes back down to 90...
  11. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    It's probably because you don't have the right pll selected.
  12. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    well I tried all the pll and even the ones that froze my comp... and it was the one that was the closes to the specs at the time....So i don't know waht else to do...
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Some don't have plls that you they have...like mine.
  14. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hmm.. then what do I have to do... I don't get it... so for yours you didn't have a specifid pll that worked.. how did you get around that..?
  15. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I couldn't, only the graphics could be overclocked on my laptop.
  16. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Alrighty.. then how did you manage that..?
  17. thegave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    If it's ATi then you use ATiTool or ATi Tray Tools.

    If it's nVidia then you throw it away and buy a new one.

    No not really. I'm not sure for nVidia. Maybe Coolbits, or rivatuner or something like that.

    If it's Intel GMA then you smack the shit out of it with a blunt instrument like a baseball bat or golf club, douse it with paraffin and set fire to it.

    Seriously.

    It will clock like a bat out of hell.
  18. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yup, ati tool does work with nvidia cards to, but just be sure to check the front page of this thread to download the correct version.
  19. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Ya it's ati mobility radeon x1600... i tried ATI tools and it goes back to defaults how do i get them to say? it's telling me that "the default profile canot be overwritten"... how do i fix that?
  20. Xtriny New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Riva tuner is working fine with nvidia cards. I've oc'ed my nVidia GeForce Go with it without any problem
  21. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    You click, "New" and create a new profile.
  22. smelskya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    I try to do that... and save it but it doesn't change anything..when ever i click out of the window it changes back to the default numbers. How do i make it so the changes stay?
  23. GeominorAI

    GeominorAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Greetings all.

    A bit new to the overclocking scheme here, but before it gets off unnecessarily, has anyone been able to (or knows how to) overclock the CPU on the Dell Inspiron 1520 series? Clockgen fails to show the configuration screen and SetFSB seems rather risky.

    Pardon if this has been addressed already; vBulletin's search feature does not work well with large threads.

    Any ideas?
  24. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Idk I've tried on my e1505...but no luck.
    GeominorAI says thanks.
  25. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Are you actually clicking "Set Clocks" at any point?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page