1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    hello there im getting a Asus g1sn just was woundering what they are like overclocking wise
    mine comes with a t8300 2.4Ghz , 9500gs M 3gb of ram any clue on what the processor clocks like and same with gpu
  2. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Unless it allows overclocking in the BIOS it seems all cpu tweaking is out until someone works out how it is done on the core 2 mobile line. GPU should be fun though - they always drastically underclock them.
  3. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    sounds like im going to have some fun :D see what she can do in 3dmark 06
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Interesting thread here, I don't really got time to look through all 22 pages. But sometime I plan on picking up a laptop and I see some people have got some really nice OC's out of them, but I gotta ask, do the stock PSU's in these laptops handle this well? I can't imagine they come equipped to handle much more than the stock settings.
  5. powermegab New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mobility HD 3470 X2

    Hi everyone and happy holidays.
    Now I have a problem regardin my notebook which has an ATI Mobility gpu. Now the frequencies are terrible low even for a notebook gpu and I tried to over clock it but every time i trie to apply it comes to default settings, so I think I have a lock bios. What I need to know it if its normal to have 337 mhz (core speed) on full load and 497 mhz (ram)... ?
    When I use GPU-Z its says it has 680 mhz core speed and 800 mhz ram. :wtf:
    IS it normal to see this values and to have others for real, and even at half that it should be ?
    And by the way my drivers are very very exigent, when it comes to update because the new drivers wont recognise my gpu, so i dont have much options when it comes to tweaking and optimization. (sorry for my bad english :D)
  6. nfshp253 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I have an Asus A8Jr and want to overclock the t5600 processor from 1.83GHz to 2.2Ghz, but I can't seem to find the PLL for my laptop. Please help!
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    This isnt a help thread post in Overclocking & Cooling.
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I have a late 2007 Fujitsu Siemens V5355 ( the cheapest version of that model too :p )

    Notebook hardware controls can not alter the processor speed, so I can't change to high performance mode any ideas at all?

    ( Has a 1.7 ghz celeron in it)
  9. ddarvish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I Hav hp dv4t at 2ghz. want to over clock. what chipset do i pick in clock gen
  10. CAPITAL LETTERS

    CAPITAL LETTERS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Ninja's Dont Need Homes
    i honestly dont see the point in overclocking a laptop......well sure, if the cooling is there, why not! but its hard to 'ubercool' a laptop to sustain the OC'd temps.

    now what would be cool is if the CPU heatsink was gone and have a waterblock with 1/4" tubing leading in and out of the cooling vents to an external watercooling system, that sits in your laptop bag for instance.
    now that would be cool

    but for the time being i'd rather stay with stock clocks on a laptop
  11. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    I think the same but if i could get a bit more speed out of mine id be happy even if it aint no slouch.
  12. ddarvish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well id still love to overclock my hp dv4t laptop regardless of what others say, so if you have helpful information as to what chipset do i pick in clock gen with my 2.0 ghz core2duo p7350 i would appreciate it
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    You have to play with pll's...although as far as I know clockgen hasn't really worked with core 2's. And btw I can overclock my gfx card just fine by turning the fans up to high....maybe if you're running a mobile pentium 4 then the stock cooling will be overload, but modern core 2's run fairly cool, but I'm not saying you should leave a laptop overclocked...you should defiantly use stock clocks and undervolt when you can.
  14. soldier242 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Badgecave ... somewhere in Dresden
    short question guys, since i had no luck ocing my T2250 i thought of buying an C2D mobile something like the P8400, so is there any chance to get this thing working on a centrino duo platform(i945PM Chipset) ... i've read it was compatible but then there are others ones/things that report it won't work ... so want do u guys think/know about it? any experience?
  15. i_am_jon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just followed your guide and got my old acer pentium M (740) 1.7Ghz up to 2.1Ghz using clockgen. Been running prime 95 for over 1 hour and only hit 65C.

    As for why overclock a laptop;
    Aside from the fun of just tweaking stuff it now plays HD videos a lot smoother :)
  16. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Hey guys, new to the overclocking laptop world and could use some help.

    First off I have an Nvidia 8400GS GPU and cannot use NTune because I am not using Nforce 2 or some BS.

    Any idea's? I tried Rivatuner, but I think I have to use the advance tools and I have never used it before. BTW, I have a HP DV6700
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Um, hmm any other like programs to OC graphics? Like I use ATI tray tools (I think it's been a while) and I don't think it really cares but I'm using an ATI card. I would try programs you would use for a desktop graphics card before trying obscure programs.
  18. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309

    ATITOOL wont work for some reason... cant remember the error. I will get it for you though
  19. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Alright, have you taken a look at the front page for programs?
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,935 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    ATI Tool hasnt been updated in so long i believe Wizzard has given up on it.
  21. lukada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How to overclock the Memory, in perticulary the SPD timings i have now an HP dv1199ew with th system bus running at 266mhz, the memory is rated at 2:3 so wit 400 but i want only 266 and the timings that come along with this. now they are 6-6-6-18, and with 266mhz they go down to 4-4-4-16 so how do i do that?
  22. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Don't worry about cooling soldiers...buy a couple of 120mm delta fans to aid the system exhaust..I've tried it...drops a lot of degrees...but eh I'm waiting on 2 new ones since my prev one broke.

    Memory can be editing using SPDTool...am running mine @ 5-4-4-9 from 5-5-5-15.

    My problem is bios flashing the vga now...it's the only thing holding me back.
  23. Mc-T New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    regarding the quanta 3603 with the core 2 duo

    does anyone know where i can find info about overclocking this thing?
  24. Amy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I agree.
  25. NeotonicDragon3

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    my Dell XPS M1530 Laptop not overclocked or anything is idling at
    CPU- 74 C [lol]
    GPU- 66 C
    HDD- 38 C
    Comp- 66 C

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page