1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. Aaron_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    i have been trying to follow the guide (I have a HP nx9420) with an ATI mobility x1600. Trying to trick it into think it is just a regular ati card. I have gotten stuck @ step 3. I modded the drivers of the one i downloaded but i don't know how to install them through the control panel I can't see a way to do that. Every i uninstall my old driver and wipe clean of it and restart, the computer automatically reinstalls the driver so it is a mobility card again. I don't know what to do at this stage to unlock the card. I appreciate all the help!

     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    go to device manager. display adapter click drop down arrow. right click on card go to properties. driver tab. update driver.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Aaron_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I found the .INF and installed it correctly and then restarted. Then went back into the device manager and it still says that the card is a mobility radeon x1600. Is that ok? I thought it was suppose to say just Radeon x1600
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    you wont know for sure until you try clocking it.
     
  5. Aaron_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried to bump the core clock from 425 MHz to 500 MHz and hit apply then I hit bench again. Then it said that the core was still at 425....:confused:
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    are you sure you unchecked signed drivers and picked the right one from the list?
     
  7. Aaron_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    under the driver info in device manager, the driver is not signed. Are you asking if i picked the correct driver from the list online? or the correct .INF file?

    I also tried to set the clock in ATI tool and when i hit tried the screen flickered in a checkerboard pattern then went black and nothing happened after that.....
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    yup it worked then. it means it oc'd wasnt stable then the driver restarted which brought you back to default. try smaller jumps
     
  9. Aaron_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    smaller jumps (in setting the clock) in ATI tool or ATI tray tools?

    I've read people jumping my card from 425 to 550+ for the core....? I have tried to find max core and max memory but the same things happen, the black screen comes up and nothing else happens. It's version 0.24 (i read it was the good one).
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2010
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    every card is diffirent what other people do need to be taken with a grain of salt. if you cant go 1mhz then you cant go 1mhz and the card wont clock.
     
  11. Aaron_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright... I tried 0.26 instead and it works better.. But i can't save the program. When i go to set the clock here, it just reverts back to the original (80.95/71.10) (core/mem)....
     
  12. jcmarfilph New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    73 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    anyone tried overclocking the i3 330m yet?

    cant get none of the fsb programs to work
     
  14. dr_dream

    dr_dream New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    me neither and I was interesed in some overclocking results for the Core i3 330M :(
     
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    I lucked out with the core i5 540M, stock 2.53ghz and turbo is up to 2.93 for two core and 3.06 for one, and it never seems to go below about 2.80 when on AC power.

    I'd still like to know how I might get to OC'ing it properly, as I cant get clockgen/setfsb to work.

    I've had tremendous luck with the Mobility 5650 however, stock clocks are 550mhz core 800mhz memory, and shes rock solid at 700mhz core 950mhz memory, and I'm still pushing :)
     
  16. allsista New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have this specs intel(R) pentium(R) Mprocessor 2.00ghz, 1gb ram(lazy to upgrade to 2gb) ATI x700 graphic card.. its a laptop btw.. just needed some advice, should i over clock it or should not?
     
  17. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    you'll have very little to gain from overclocking a laptop with these kind of specs, in your shoes I probably wouldn't bother... this laptop will have a hard time playing any game thats moderately recent.
     
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'll be hangin' over here in the next couple of days. I have a new Lenovo y560 on it's way, and it needs to be tweaked.:rockout:
     
  19. tom9021 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, i signed up just for this.

    Basically, i have never overclocked anything before, though i know a bit about it.

    My laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1750

    Core 2 duo 2.2ghz
    ATI mobility radeon HD 4330
    4 GB DDR2
    500 GB 5200rpm

    When i first got it i ran Fallout 3 and Oblivion ok (i.e it was playable and i have quite high standards, i never noticed it being at all laggy, completed them both, played a lot)

    Now, almost a year later they run too badly for me to play. I see pretty much no difference when i change the settings. I have decided to try to overclock it (if you think i can and it would be worth it) I use my laptop a lot. I install/download/remove a lot of things. (Should i try a registry cleaner?)

    So any advice? Either on making my laptop faster without OC or how to OC it?

    Thanks
     
  20. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    If i were you i would save any important data and do a format and re-install one of the "lite" versions of windows 7 that you may be able to find floating about.

    Doing this tho, depends on u not having anything you can't replace.

    The second option is to get some registry cleaner software along with other software performance tools (Defragger). You'll need to check the startup stuff through msconfig.exe and look thru the services manager to see if everything loading up when u boot is needed.

     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    finished upgrading my netbook

    low power setting ~5.5 watts
    [​IMG]

    normal setting ~11 watts (stock chips consumption was 12 watts@1.2ghz)
    [​IMG]

    pretty maxed out ~18 watts (might go outside and go for 2.5ghz sub zero temps should allow it)

    [​IMG]

    the last one is a little much for my netbooks cooler i need some kind of cooling mod to make it work...
     
  22. Szasza New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there any way to the Sapphire HD5670 1GB GDDR5 card with larger series of amendments into bios?
     
  23. Dmugen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I want to overclock this laptop:

    Dell Studio

    - Intel Core 2 DUO T5850, 2.16GHz
    - 2GB memory
    - ATI Mobillity Radeon HD 3650 256MB
    - 17" monitor
    - Windows 7 ultimate 64

    I have tried quite a few of the programs mention in Page 1 but they just don't work, I get errors, missing driver and some just don't open nothing happens.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
    Cpoco says thanks.
  24. Nauzhror New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hmm, anyone tried overclocking a G73JH? Just got one earlier today and decided to overclock both the CPU and the GPU.

    According to http://www.notebookcheck.net/ATI-Mobility-Radeon-HD-5870.23073.0.html they scored between 12,304 and 13,534 on laptops with the same video card on 3dmark06.

    I got 12,508 stock, but managed 14,043 after overclocking.

    This likely about all that can be squeezed from the card or has anyone managed to get more from a similar setup?
     

    Attached Files:

  25. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    If you feel like you're close to it's max power, just push it up in small increments, tweak the ram a bit if you can. Cards will vary so some might be worse some might be better depending on your luck.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page