1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop service time - Little mod.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by itsakjt, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    So as I discussed about the problem in the thread http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2829095

    I did a small mod today which I think will prevent the intake of dust and so the time prior to servicing will be more. I covered the intake vent with cello-tape.

    [​IMG]

    Will it do the job as I think? Please post your opinion.
     
  2. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    311 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Romania
    And can it suck in enough air through that? Or are you stalling the air circulation rendering the fan useless and heating the laptop up even more?
     
  3. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    I'm not an expert, but isn't that way it gets cool air in?
     
  4. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Looks we have a winner in the Bad Idea of Month Club.
     
    Baum, Aquinus, Pehla and 1 other person say thanks.
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Starting another thread on why my laptop melted in 3....2....1.....

    Yea this is the complete wrong idea. For anyone that knows anything about computers, you DO NOT block air circulation vents for heatsinks or cases in general.
     
    jgunning, Pehla and SaiZo say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I know that but the laptop is not overheating at all. I stressed it for around 1 hr using Intel Burn Test and the max temp is 75(72 when the vent is open). But atleast in my logic, it will not suck in the dust- Correct me if I am wrong. I have seen many laptops(Sony VAIO E series for example) which does NOT even HAVE an inlet vent at all.
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The air that is being forced through the heatsink has to come from somewhere so if its not coming from the vent you covered up then it will be coming from other cracks and openings in the case. Dirt is always going to be an issue with anything that has moving air through it.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Yes it will stop dust but so would not switching it on ever. Instabilty is on your horizon wi that mod and 75 is starting to go to hot for me personally
     
    More than 25k PPD
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,887 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    [​IMG]

    Pantyhose.
     
    AlienIsGOD and McSteel say thanks.
  10. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Ok I get it and I have removed the mod. :p It is always good to learn and thanks to all of you for teaching me.
    Would you guys explain me one thing though? How are the laptops which does not have intake vents in the bottom cooled? Is it done by using a different design? Or a different fan maybe?
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Like which models? I had a Sony that had the intake on the back and the exhaust on the side.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    itsakjt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    627 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Frick has the right idea. A piece of finely-weaved light pantyhose (40 DEN or less) will catch dust but not restrict airflow enough to matter. You could stretch it on a wire frame or something similar, and tape it over the intake. Take it off once in a while, blow the dust away, and reattach it.

    Pantyhose.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  15. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    It's not going to clog for months just blow output with compressed air every month and you will be fine.
     
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,667 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think someone runs the AC in the winter to get cold air. :roll:
     
  17. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    336 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I followed your other thread for awhile, but lost it...

    If you're serious about lowering your temps...then just replace the B950 with a Core i3 2310. Then you're done.

    It will work...and it will lower your temps tremendously.


    Best,

    LC
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  18. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Correct. But the thing is it will be very costly. If I had the offer to exchange, I would have done it.

    Also, will the blower of a vacuum cleaner work similar to compressed air can?
     
    Liquid Cool says thanks.
  19. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    It wasn't a mod, it was sellotape :slap: :laugh:

    You'll be surprised at how much of a difference replacing the TIM on a laptop with some decent stuff will make.
     
  20. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    336 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    $40US on E-Bay isn't all that expensive, perhaps they're worth a mint in your country. I don't know.

    I've modded many of the Compaq CQ series units that came with AMD's V140 chip...the reason I mention this is because it's the same chassis, after upgrading the laptop usually runs about 20 degrees celsius cooler and the fan hardly comes on.

    It's a whole different laptop...a pleasure to use.

    At any rate...good luck with whatever you do, but please...no tape.

    :)

    Liquid Cool
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  21. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    LOL yes. :laugh: And as for the TIM, I already tried 3 of them. All good. Cooler Master Thermal Fusion 400, CM IC Essential and IC Diamond 24. But all results were same. After around 4 months, the heating problem came back. And to my surprise when I took apart the heatsink, the thermal compound was still good but it was dust accumulated in the vents. :banghead:
     
  22. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Actually the advantage of those CPUs is that they have a higher temperature withstand ability than the Pentium installed in mine. So obviously, its a better choice.
     
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,667 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Describe still good. It should have cured by then so it shouldn't have been easily pliable like it is out of the canister. Maybe you're putting too much on when you do? A laptop CPU tends to be pretty small. You only need a very small amount.
     
  24. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Not at all, when I opened it up later it was good. The paste was very thin in the die and slightly it came outside. So I assume I am following the correct method. I even reapplied TIM on my desktop motherboard's chipsets and GPU in that way only but never had an issue.
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Laptops are dust magnets since they are portable and most people lay them down on carpet, bed sheets, and couch arms. They need to be blown out with canned air or compress air at a low pressure quite often.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page