1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop to Desktop

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by beesagtig, Dec 24, 2008.

  1. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok so i have an old laptop and its been sitting in a cupboard somewhere for a while.

    I decided to take it apart:)

    I took off the monitor for it and saw that it had some plugin cables of sort and was wondering if I could somehow convert these plugin cables to DVI or VGA?

    Help appreciated

    Olly
     
  2. Snipermonkey2

    Snipermonkey2

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    572 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    The Batcave
    Does the laptop have a VGA output already on the back i/o panel?
     
  3. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    It does
     
  4. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I took some pictures of the connections

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Snipermonkey2

    Snipermonkey2

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    572 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    The Batcave
    If you still want to use that lcd off the laptop then you will need something custom for a adapter. I would try searching around on google.
     
  6. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Mmmmmmk. Thank you

    Would you have any idea which is power and which is video?
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
  7. synaesthesia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    England
    You'll need a lot more than that, laptop LCD's controller is on the motherboard/graphics board in the laptop therefore generally it will only work on that laptop or others with identically specified screens. There's no way you can plug it into a desktop or anything like that without fitting some form of controller to it. I have experimented myself with a 15.4" 1920x1200 laptop screen, obtained a controller from a local electronics supplier (Maplin) and had limited success - certainly not enough to warrant using it :)
     
  8. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok that sucks, was hoping to use it as a quick portable screen to just plugin to my download computer instead of having to switch the cable on the back which is a pain
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page